Bouwmeester and Burling win Rolex World Sailor of the Year awards

Marit Bouwmeester (NED) and Peter Burling (NZL) were the big winners at the inaugural World Sailing Awards as they were announced male and female 2017 Rolex World Sailor of the Year.Marit Bouwmeester -

Marit Bouwmeester was voted female Rolex World Sailor of the Year by the public, World Sailing's Member National Authorities and guests voting on the night.

Bouwmeester claimed an emphatic third world Laser Radial title. Just two months later, she claimed the European Championship title ensuring she holds all the current major titles – Olympic, Worlds and European.

Peter Burling personified cool, calm and collectedness at the 35th America's Cup at the helm Emirates Team New Zealand.

Facing off against ORACLE Team USA and the bullish Jimmy Spithill, Burling was never fazed and with a hard-working team, spearheaded a 7-1 victory.

Peter Burling - Click image for a larger image

Burling was unable to join delegates at the 2017 World Sailing Awards as he is currently competing in the Volvo Ocean Race on-board Team Brunel.

The Beppe Croce Trophy was presented to Beppe Croce's son, Carlo Croce, at the 2017 World Sailing Awards for his services to the sport.

Stan Honey received the President's Development Award, as he has continuously looked forward, developing the presentation of the sport on television as well as being one of the most accomplished sailors.

Follow Sailweb on Facebook - Click here

Follow Sailweb on Twitter - Click here