Home >

Sailweb  RSS feed

Sailing World Championships - Day 7 Results

Many a slip . . . Things were looking good for GBR team early Wednesday . . .

Hannah Mills and Eilidh McIntyre were already into the women's 470 medal race in third, set for a podium place, and Amy Seabright and Anna Carpenter through in eighth.

But Wednesday was also decision day for the Finn and men's 470 medal races, and that's where it all started to go wrong for GBR.

In the Finn, overnight leader Ed Wright had a 27 and a 19 in the two final races and scraped into the medal race in tenth place and out of the medals.

Also no good news in the men's 470 where Luke Patience and Chris Grube missed the medal race cut by a point.

In the women's Radial Tuesday's rout continued with Hannah Snellgrove dropping to 20th and Alison Young, now in 16th place, having two races left to make the medal race (top 10).

In the women's 49erFX, there was a change of focus in the British team as Charlotte Dobson and Saskia Tidey (29,29,13) dropped to 14th and Sophie Weguelin and Sophie Ainsworth (15,3,2) move into sixth overall.

There are three more races scheduled for Thursday for Dobson and Tidey to get back into the medal race.

Elliott Hanson and Nick Thompson retain their top-ten places in the Laser Standard with one full fleet race remaining Thursday.

The 49er gold fleet – with James Peters and Fynn Sterritt in 12th place and Dylan Fletcher and Stuart Bithell in 20th, attempted to race but it was abandoned due to lack of wind.

So, as the rain poured down, time for GBR Performance Manager Mark Robinson to take stock . . . I blame climate change, it's not normally like this !

Medal Races Thursday

MR Schedule:

Finn - Stadium 14:07 hrs
470 Men - Stadium 14:47 hrs
470 Women - Stadium 15:27 hrs

Finn - Medal Race qualifiers

1st  SWE 33 Max SALMINEN 60 pts
2nd  HUN 40 Zsombor BERECZ 68 pts
3rd  NZL 24 Josh JUNIOR 68 pts
4th  NED 89 Nicholas HEINER 69 pts
5th  CAN 18 Tom RAMSHAW 71 pts
6th  NED 842 Pieter-Jan POSTMA 72 pts
7th  ARG 48 Facundo OLEZZA 77 pts
8th  TUR 21 Alican KAYNAR 78 pts
9th  NZL 61 Andy MALONEY 82 pts
10th  GBR 11 Edward WRIGHT 83 pts

470 Women - Medal Race qualifiers

1st  JPN 1 Ai KONDO YOSHIDA and Miho YOSHIOKA 23 pts
2nd  FRA 9 Camille LECOINTRE and Aloise RETORNAZ 28 pts
3rd  GBR 1 Hannah MILLS and Eilidh McINTYRE 33 pts
4th  ESP 18 Silvia MAS DEPARES and Patricia CANTERO REINA 37 pts
5th  CHN 621 Mengxi WEI and Haiyan GAO 57 pts
6th  ESP 14 Bàrbara CORNUDELLA and Sara LÓPEZ 61 pts
7th  GBR 7 Amy SEABRIGHT and Anna CARPENTER 68 pts
8th  ITA 74 Benedetta di SALLE and Alessandra DUBBINI 68 pts
9th  GRE 216 Maria BOZI and Rafailina KLONARIDOU 77 pts
10th  SLO 64 Tina MRAK and Veronika MACAROL 80 pts

470 Men - Medal Race qualifiers

1st  SWE 349 Anton DAHLBERG and Fredrik BERGSTRÖM 44 pts
2nd  JPN 7 Tetsuya ISOZAKI and Akira TAKAYANAGI 50 pts
3rd  FRA 27 Kevin PEPONNET and Jeremie MION 50 pts
4th  AUS 11 Mathew BELCHER and William RYAN 57 pts
5th  ESP 44 Jordi XAMMAR HERNANDEZ and Nicolás RODRÍGUEZ 58 pts
6th  JPN 20 Keiju OKADA and Jumpei HOKAZONO 63 pts
7th  JPN 11 Kazuto DOI and Naoya KIMURA 73 pts
8th  SWE 350 Carl-Fredrik FOCK and Marcus DACKHAMMAR 73 pts
9th  USA 1 Stuart McNAY and David HUGHES 74 pts
10th  ITA 757 Giacomo FERRARI and Giulio CALABRÒ 89 pts

Full Results available here

Follow Sailweb on Facebook - Click here

Follow Sailweb on Twitter - Click here