Home >

Sailweb  RSS feed

OK Dinghy Worlds - Tight final day in Warnemünde

Andre Budzien claimed his third OK Dinghy world title

After two thrilling and close races, Germany's Andre Budzien claimed his third OK Dinghy world title, with exactly the same scoreline as Fredrik Lööf of Sweden, the tie being broken on the result of the final race.

Jan Kurfeld of Germany took the bronze after a premature start in the final race cost him the title.

Britain's Charlie Cumbley finished in fourth place.

Jan Kurfeld make the first strike with an impressive win in Race 7 from Budzien and Thomas Hansson-Mild. Lööf was up there for a while but dropped to fourth at the finish.

Going into the deciding race, there was one point separating the top three and it could not have been closer.

Kurfeld was again the pace maker, leading the fleet around the course.

Lööf was challenging hard and at the final downwind was pushing Kurfeld tack for tack in an attempt to force a mistake and a chance to pass.

This pushed them both to the right side of the final beat, and this allowed Budzien the chance to escape to the left and make up some ground.

Coming into the finish, it was really close and the three boats approached the finish line from different directions.

In the end Kurfeld crossed just seconds ahead of Budzien with Lööf 10 seconds back in third. It was perhaps the closest finish to an OK Dinghy world championship ever.

However Kurfeld was world champion for less than 30 minutes until it emerged that he was a premature starter.

Budzien and Lööf had exactly the same scoreline. Countback of results failed to break the tie, so it was decided on the result of the final race.

OK Dinghy World Championship - Final leaders

1st  GER 71 Andrè BUDZIEN 12 pts
2nd  SWE 69 Fredrik LOOF 12 pts
3rd  GER 18 Jan KURFELD 13 pts
4th  GBR 6 Charlie CUMBLEY 20 pts
5th  SWE 100 Thomas HANSSON-MILD 21 pts
6th  DEN 1507 Bo PETERSEN 24 pts
7th  NOR 428 Lars Johan BRODTKORB 28 pts
8th  NZL 582 Greg WILCOX 46 pts
9th  GER 803 Martin V ZIMMERMANN 48 pts
10th  NZL 573 Luke GOWER 50 pts
11th  POL 1 Tomasz GAJ 52 pts
12th  SWE 797 Mats CAAP 55 pts
13th  GER 77 Sönke BEHRENS 58 pts
14th  GBR 69 Terry CURTIS 64 pts
15th  GBR 44 Chris TURNER 66 pts
16th  AUS 768 Mark JACKSON 74 pts
17th  GER 792 Lars HAVERLAND 82 pts
18th  DEN 10 Jens LAUGE 82 pts
19th  GBR 2183 Richard BURTON 86 pts
20th  SWE 139 Hans BÖRJESSON 87 pts
21st  GER 2 Gunter ARNDT 92 pts
22nd  GBR 17 David BOURNE 95 pts
23rd  POL 14 Pawel PAWLACZYK 98 pts
24th  DEN 1510 Jan Hempel SPARSØ 114 pts
25th  GBR 13 Alex SCOLES 116 pts
26th  GER 3 Wolfgang HÖFENER 119 pts
27th  DEN 1487 Henrik KOFOED 120 pts
28th  GER 5 Ralf TIETJE 122 pts
29th  DEN 22 Ask ASKHOLM 126 pts
30th  SWE 2846 Jonas BÖRJESSON 133 pts

First Lady: Elizabeth Williams
Master: Fredrik Loof
Veteran: Andre Budzien
Paul Elvstrøm Trophy: Andre Budzien

Full results here

Follow Sailweb on Facebook - Click here

Follow Sailweb on Twitter - Click here