Home >

Sailweb  RSS feed

Salcombe Merlin Week - A four-way title race

With four races down the battle for the title is looking to be between Taxi and Alex, Si and Phil, the Calverts and the Chris’s

This is Merlin Rocket code for - it's between Andy Davis and Alex Warren, Simon Blake and Phil Dalby, Mike and Jane Calvert, and Chris Gould and Chris Kilsby.

On Wednesday's Blue v Black flights:

The sister pairing of Jenny Dodds and Pippa Kilsby took the lead at Mark Z, which was north of Saltstone.

On the beat back to Blackstone, the girls slowly extended to have a comfortable lead allowing them to relax and take their firstrace win of the week, putting the 39th overall.

Behind them, Will and Mary Henderson slowly eroded Blake and Dalby’s lead and came through on the run to Crossways to take second.

Blake and Dalby were third and Davis and Warren were able to take fourth place.

In afternoon Green v Red flights:

Caroline Croft and Mat Lulham-Jones showed nerves of steel to win the start and led away chased by Roger and Jane Gilbert who had taken the lead by Blackstone.

But the Calverts held the West shore down to Tosnos before crossing the tide and in so doing took the lead at Ox Point and hold it to came home well ahead to take their second race win.

Caroline Croft and Matt Lulham-Robinson were a strong second, Tim Fells and Frances Gifford just pipped Roger Gilbert and Jane Gilbert for third.

Sharps Doom Bar Salcombe Merlin Week - Day 4, Races 7 & 8 (120 entries)

1st Blue Andy Davis and Alex Warren 4 (DNC) 12 pts
2nd Black Simon Blake and Phil Dalby 3 (DNC) 13 pts
3rd Red Mike Calvert and Jane Calvert (DNC) 1 14 pts
4th Green Chris Gould and Chris Kilsby (DNC) 5 16 pts
5th Red Roger Gilbert and Jane Gilbert (DNC) 4 20 pts
6th Green Tim Fells and Frances Gifford (DNC) 3 22 pts
7th Black Simon Potts and Ally Potts 6 (DNC) 23 pts
8th Red Caroline Croft and Matt Lulham-Robinson (DNC) 2 24 pts
9th Blue Christian Birrell and Sam Brearey 8 (DNC) 28 pts
10th Black Will Henderson and Mary Henderson 2 (DNC) 29 pts
11th Green Chris Jennings and Oli Wells (DNC) 15 31 pts
12th Red Alan Roberts and Rob Henderson (DNC) 6 31 pts
13th Blue Dave Wade and Roz McGrane 13 (DNC) 32 pts
14th Red Olly Turner and Miss Holly Scott (DNC) 7 35 pts
15th Black Nick Heginbototham and Zoe Parry 11 (DNC) 36 pts
16th Green Jason Andrews and Zeb Elliott (DNC) 14 44 pts
17th Red Stephen Leney and Gillian Lenney (DNC) 25 44 pts
18th Green Paul Rayson and Christian Hill (DNC) 17 48 pts
19th Blue Antony Gifford and Jo Gifford 9 (DNC) 51 pts
20th Green Alan Warren and Will Carroll (DNC) 9 52 pts

Full results available here

Follow Sailweb on Facebook - Click here

Follow Sailweb on Twitter - Click here