Home >

Sailweb  RSS feed

Mudhook Regatta on the Clyde

Five classes competed at the Mudhook YC event, supported by Helensburgh SC

After five clean races across the weekend, Banshee with Charlie Frize and crew has taken RC35 top spot at Mudhook Regatta on the Clyde.

It is the second year in a row that the Corby 33 has taken the victory at the regatta in this strong class of very tightly-matched yachts.

The weekend’s conditions ranged from light to moderate, with Sunday’s breeze topping out at 10 knots from the south or south west.

For the 31-strong field, short, sharp races were appreciated across the five classes competing at the Mudhook Yacht Club event, supported shoreside by Helensburgh Sailing Club, and held on the Clyde’s East Patch.


Building on an excellent first day’s results and doggedly pursuing consistency, Stewart Robertson’s Cacciatore ran away with a very convincing first place for the eight-strong 707 fleet.

The crew’s five point victory gave them a clear lead over second-placed Jetstream belonging to Justin Venton and Bill Hamilton which finished on 10 points.

The Sigma 33 line-up may have been small, but it did present some interesting competition, which resulted in an overall win for James Miller and crew on Mayrise, a single point ahead of Scott Chalmers’ Encore.

The resurgent tide for the Etchells continues to flood nicely and, it was the more seasoned campaigners who headed to the top of the scoreboard, with James Cochrane’s Bullet 7 just managing to eke out the advantage over Steve Cowie’s Diablo.

The most emphatic line up of results, however, belonged to Griogair Whyte at the helm of Siglette in the Sonar class – five firsts from five starts; what’s not to like?

Overall results Mudhook Regatta, Helensburgh, Clyde

1 Banshee (C Frize – Mudhook YC/Royal Northern and Clyde YC) 6 points
2 Now or Never 3 (N Sandford – Fairlie YC) 10 points
3 Wildebeest (C Latimer – Royal Western YC/CCC) 12 points

Hunter 707
1 Cacciatore (S Robertson – Royal Forth YC) 5 points
2 Jetstream (Venton/Hamilton – Port Edgar YC) 10 points
3 Seaword (D O’malley – PEYC) 13 points

1 Bullet 7 (J Cochrane – MYC/Royal Gourock YC) 8 points
2 Diablo (S Cowie – RGYC/Clyde Cruising Club) 9 points
3 Hero (G Howison – RGYC) 10 points

Sigma 33
1 Mayrise (J Miller – Helensburgh SC) 5 points
2 Encore (S Chalmers – RNCYC) 6 points

1 Siglette (Siglette Consortium – RNCYC) 4 points
2 Grouse (S&L Pender – RNCYC) 9 points

Follow Sailweb on Facebook - Click here

Follow Sailweb on Twitter - Click here