Home >

Sailweb  RSS feed

Spirit wins 2018 North Sea Race

The 2018 North Sea Race - Harwich to Scheveningen - was won overall, after IRC time correction, by the corinthian team racing British Sigma 38 Spirit.

Spirit crew for the 2018 North Sea Race: Paul Scott - Owner and Skipper, Rosemary Nunn, Geoff Lynch, Clive Wintle, David Leech, Patrick Campbell, Ian Burberry, Tony Webb and Jane Davies.

The team race regularly with the East Anglian Offshore Racing Association. Paul Scott is a member of the RORC, West Mersea YC, and Haven Ports YC.

The top three teams overall, were all racing in IRC Four, Spirit was the winner, second was Robert Leggett's X-332 Ape-x, and third was Michel Dorsman's Dutch X-362 Extra Djinn.

Ker 46 Lady Mariposa, skippered by Daniel Hardy took line honours and the win in IRC Zero. Dutch Ker 46 Van Uden skippered by Rogier Van Overveld was second.

In IRC Two, Astrid De Vin's Dutch Grand Soleil 43 Il Corvo, racing Two-Handed was the winner, Chris Schram's Corby 38 Double Edge was second, and Mark Emerson's British A13 Phosphorus II was third.

In IRC Two, Michael Mollmann's Danish X37 Hansen was the winner, ahead of Frans & Carla Rodenburg's Dutch First 40 Elke. Roy Heiner's Dutch Maxfun 35 Team Heiner III was third.

Willem de Jonge van Ellemeet's Dutch Dufour 40 Flying Dolphin took line honours in IRC Three and the win after time correction. Robert Jockin's Dutch Dehler 39 Griel was second, just ahead of Gabriel Krier's Belgian A35 Amaris 2.

In the IRC Two Handed Class, Richard Palmer's British JPK 10.10 Jangada was the winner, opening up a substantial lead in the class for the RORC Season's Points Championship.

Robin Verhoef & John Van Der Starre's Dutch J/122e Ajeto! Was second, and Wim van Slooten's Dutch J/109 Firestorm was third.

The RORC Season's Points Championship continues Saturday 26 May, 2018 with the start of the Myth of Malham Race, over the Bank Holiday Weekend, the race is approximately 256 nautical miles from Cowes to the Eddystone Lighthouse, and back for a Solent finish.

2018 RORC Mainseries IRC Overall North Sea Race (42 entries)

1st GBR8354 Spirit Sigma 38 Paul Scott 100 120 pts
2nd GBR8708R Ape-x X 332 1.81 Robert Leggett 94 112.8 pts
3rd GBR362 Extra Djinn X 362 S Michel Dorsman 90 108 pts
4th FRA37310 Foggy Dew Jpk 10.10 Noel Racine 86 103.2 pts
5th NED7935 Flying Dolphin Dufour 40 Performance Willem de Jonge van Ellemeet 83 99.6 pts
6th NED6428 Griel Dehler 39 Robert Jockin 80 96 pts
7th BEL3590 Amaris 2 Archambault A35 Gabriel Krier 78 93.6 pts
8th GBR958R Jangada Jpk 10.10 Richard Palmer 2H 76 91.2 pts
9th NED7439 Jai Alai J/109 Alain Bornet 74 88.8 pts
10th NED9112 Ajeto! J/122e Robin Verhoef & John Van Der Starre 2H 72 86.4 pts
11th GBR8532R Firestorm J/109 Wim van Slooten 2H 70 84 pts
12th GBR8804R Charlie Don't Surf Everitt 31 Custom David Gibbons 68 81.6 pts
13th DEN68 Hansen X37 Michael Mollmann 66 79.2 pts
14th GBR3705L Whistledown IV Feeling 1350 Graham Howat 65 78 pts
15th NED6169 Elke First 40 Frans & Carla Rodenburg 64 76.8 pts
16th MLT105 Bigfoot J/105 Robert Nelson 63 75.6 pts
17th GBR8876T Panther J/105 Yvonne Beusker & Edith Voskamp 2H 62 74.4 pts
18th NED7020 Team Heiner III Maxfun35 Roy Heiner 61 73.2 pts
19th GBR4227L Lyra Of London Swan 431 Miles Delap 60 72 pts
20th NED7800 Arethusa J/109 Kees Mijs 2H 59 70.8 pts

Full results here

Follow Sailweb on Facebook - Click here

Follow Sailweb on Twitter - Click here