Home >

Sailweb  RSS feed

Waszp Inaugural UK National title to Graham Priestly

The Waszp class held their inaugural UK Nationals at Rutland SC over the weekendWaszp at Atlantic Championships -

Graham Priestly was the winner of the Waszp UK Nationals, taking the title after a close event, finishing just two points ahead of Max Todd, with Paul Bartlett completing the podium places.

One day of the three day event was lost to the weather (no wind Saturday) but otherwise a good range of conditions for the 17 competitors.

Todd dominated day 1, winning three of the five races, with Priestly winning the opening race but then having to play second fiddle to Todd, before Jamie Calder scooped-up the final race.

When action resumed on Sunday Priestly came to the fore adding another two race wins and a second to overhaul Todd (6,5,3,1) and take the Waszp UK title.

Interesting 'what-might-have-been', was the performance of Steve Tylecote of the host club, who only turned out on the Sunday and had a very consistant 3, 1, 2, 3 day.

The Waszp European Championships will be held at the Malcesine YC in Italy from the 28 June to the 1 July.

Prior to this event there from the 25th - 27th a coaching clinic will be available as well as clinics on boat preparation and maintenance.

There will also be an owners meeting, an agents meeting and a presentation on the up-coming WASZP Games in Perth 2019.

Waszp UK Nationals - Final positions after 9 races

1st 230 Graham Priestley TBA SC 11 pts
2nd 2231 Maxwell Todd RYDAC Penrhos School 13 pts
3rd 352 Paul Bartlett Starcross YC 24 pts
4th 2521 Jamie Calder TBA SC 30 pts
5th 2525 Duncan Hepplewhite Loch Lomond SC 40 pts
6th 2394 William Heathcote RLYMYC 44 pts
7th 2475 Peter Deming TBA SC 44 pts
8th 2050 Steve Tylecote Rutland SC 63 pts
9th 2022 Matt Toynbee Dalgety Bay SC 63 pts
10th 2373 Rachael Jenkins Bowmoor SC 67 pts
11th 2330 Sam Sparks Queen Mary SC 71 pts
12th 2305 Selina Dicker TBA SC 75 pts
13th 2237 Daniel Wellbourn Hesp Carsington SC 76 pts
14th 2030 Sean Purdy OCC 77 pts
15th 2262 Andrew Humphris Leigh-on-Sea SC 82 pts
16th 2156 Philip Ewart Derwent Reservoir SC 96 pts
17th 2019 Victoria Payne Hayling Island SC 104 pts

Follow Sailweb on Facebook - Click here

Follow Sailweb on Twitter - Click here