Home >

Sailweb  RSS feed

Fourth Congressional Cup for Taylor Canfield

Taylor Canfield and Team US One Triumph in Congressional Cup final to earn Fourth Crimson Blazer

Joining Canfield on his return to the Congressional Cup podium is Mike Buckley, Ian Coleman, Victor Diaz de Leon, Dan Morrs, George Pete, and Erik Shampain.

In scintillating matches, as the wind built to 14 knots, Canfield took the first race, while Barker won the second. When the third match went to Canfield, it all came down to race four.

After a tight start, on the first upwind leg Barker tacked too aggressively, according to the judges, earning a penalty.

The closely matched teams dueled around the course.

But when Barker elected to take his penalty turn at the top mark, Canfield surged ahead, and never succumbed, taking the win and the final 3 to 1.

Sam Gilmour (AUS) defeated Johnie Berntsson (SWE) in the petit-finals, for third place in this World Sailing Grade One regatta hosted by Long Beach Yacht Club.

Follow Sailweb on Facebook - Click here

Follow Sailweb on Twitter - Click here