Home >

Sailweb  RSS feed

RYA Youth Nationals - Calm after the storm

The second day of racing at the RYA Youth National Championships in Largs, Scotland, and all fleets completed a bumper day of racing.420 - Harper and Thompson -

The race committee worked hard all day long to keep the competitors sailing in tricky conditions and all fleets managed four races, the Nacra15 completing five.


Consistency was key for Niamh Harper and Ross Thompson (Loch Tummel) in the 420 as ups and downs on the scorecard really shuffled the pack on a tricky day.

The Scottish team managed two thirds and a fifth before taking the final race win of the day to sit atop the leaderboard.

Adele Young and Daniel Burns (Parkstone) took two second places, a fourth and a discarded 12 that moved them up to second overall.

Rhys Lewis and Drew Wright (CBYC) moved in to third position in the standings taking a win to go with a 3, 8, 9 scoreline.

Laser Standard

Joseph Mullan (SUWC) leads the way in the Laser Standard with two wins from four races.

Mullan leapfrogged overnight leader Jamie Calder (Loch Tummel) who is second with a 3, 4, 5, 5 score. Calder now sits six points back from leader Mullan but four ahead of third placed Jake Farren-Price.

Farren-Price (Chew Valley) and fourth placed Lewis Smith (Royal Forth) took the other race wins on offer from the day.


The discard really came in to play for the 29ers as Ewan Wilson and Finlay Armstrong (Wormit) could not make it to the top of the leaderboard despite four wins from five races.

That honour instead goes to Bella Fellows and Anna Sturrock (Yealm) who shot to the top thanks to some consistent sailing. A 2, 3, 3, 3, and a fifth place finish meant the pair could discard their disappointing 17th place from the first race of the regatta.

Fellows and Sturrock top the overall standings and the girls section with a 21 point cushion over next best Hannah Bristow and Jessica Jobson (WPNSA).

Behind the impressive Wilson and Armstrong are James Hammett and Piers Nicholls (HISC) in third overall and second in the boys section.

Hammett and Nicholls took the only race win that their rivals couldn’t manage to secure and married that up with a fourth, sixth and discarded 11th.

29er - Fellows and Sturrock - Click image for a larger image

Laser Radial Girls

Daisy Collingridge (Waldringfield) and Chloe Barr (Stokes Bay) continue to fight it out at the top of the Laser Radial Girls fleet as both impress on day four.

Collingridge won the first race, but Barr came back with a win in the final race of the day. Collingridge has 12 points to hold the overnight lead with Barr one point back on 13.

Matilda Nicholls (Royal Lymington) holds third overall but it was Iona Dixon (Docklands) and Molly Sacker (RLymYC) who took the race wins that the top two could not.


William Smith and Abigail Clarke (Grafham) maintained their place at the top of the Nacra15 fleet. They took another two wins to add to two second places and a third, for a total of ten points.

Three points back in second overall are Morgan Smith and Molly Desorgher (Rutland) who took victory in the first race of the day and followed it up with a 2, 2, 4, 5.

Other race winners in the fleet were third placed Theo and Jasmine Williams (Restronguet) and William Harrison and Arabella Sabberton (Marconi SC).

The stage is now set for the final day of racing scheduled on Friday 6 April to crown the 2018 RYA Youth National champions.

Full results available here

Follow Sailweb on Facebook - Click here

Follow Sailweb on Twitter - Click here