Home >

Sailweb  RSS feed

British Olympic Squad head to Miami

Round 2 of the 2018 World Cup Series gets underway in Miami on the 21 January and will see some interesting entries among the British Squad.470 - Hannah Mills and Eilidh McIntyre -

According to the latest entry lists the first Olympic classes event in Miami will feature some major British Olympic competitors returning to the World Cup circuit.

Finn gold medalist Giles Scott continues preparation for 2020 with entry at Miami alongside Ben Cornish and Ed Wright.

Another 2016 gold medalist, Hannah Mills now sailing with Eilidh McIntyre in the women's 470 and seems set on the 470 event for Japan, after dabbling briefly in the 49erFX.

Returning to the women's RS:X is Bryony Shaw, Miami will be her first competitive event since taking a break for the birth of new son Jaddek.

2018 sees the pressure starts to mount for Olympic qualification and team selection.

Still two years to go but every event will count from now and the pressure will mount, with the old guard facing new, young competitors for the Japan 2020 Olympic team.

GBR Competitors at Miami World Cup Series event (Provisional)

470 Men - Martin Wrigley and James Taylor, expect also Luke Patience and Chris Grube.
470 Women - Hannah Mills and Eilidh McIntyre, Amy Seabright and Anna Carpenter, Jess Lavery and Flora Stewart.
Finn - Ben Cornish, Giles Scott, Edward Wright.
Laser Men - Elliot Hanson.
49er Women - Kate Macgregor and Sophie Ainsworth, Charlotte Dobson and Saskia Tidey.
Radial Women - Hannah Snellgrove.
RSX Women - Emma Wilson, Imogen Sills, Saskia Sills, Bryony Shaw.
RSX Men - Tom Squires, Kieran Holmes Martin, Daniel Wilson, Sam Sills.
Nacra 17 - Rupert White and Kirstie Urwin, John Gimson and Anna Burnet and possibly Ben Saxton/Katie Dabson.
49er Men - No GBR entry listed but expect Dylan Fletcher-Scott and Stuart Bithell, James Peters and Fynn Sterritt.

Follow Sailweb on Facebook - Click here

Follow Sailweb on Twitter - Click here