Home >

Sailweb  RSS feed

Japan stages first event of 2017-18 World Cup Series

Gamagori, Japan will host the opening event of World Sailing's 2017-18 World Cup Series from 15 - 22 October.

The event has not attracted a full house but some 290 world class sailors from 40 nations will compete.

Team GBR will feature in most events, but no British entries are listed in the women's 470, RS:X and 49erFX.

The Finn and Nacra17 events are not included in the programme.

Racing will commence on Tuesday 6 June, with Medal Races on Saturday 21 and Sunday 22 October.

Expect to see the following Team GBR competing:

470 Men - Luke Patience and Chris Grube

49er Men - Dylan Fletcher-Scott and Stuart Bithell, James Peters and Fynn Sterritt, Jack Hawkins and Christopher Thomas, Chris Taylor and Sam Batten

Laser Men - Nick Thompson, Lorenzo Brando Chiavarini, Michael Beckett, Jack Wetherell

RSX Men - Andy Brown, Dan Wilson

Laser Radial Women - Alison Young, Georgina Povall

First races are on Tuesday 17 October.

Follow Sailweb on Facebook - Click here

Follow Sailweb on Twitter - Click here