Home >

Sailweb  RSS feed

Maxi Yacht Rolex Cup - Momo Maxi 72 World Champion

Germany’s Dieter Schön and the crew of Momo claimed the 2017 Rolex Maxi 72 World Championship held off Porto Cervo.Maxi 72 Momo -

Going into the final day, Momo held a 2.75 point lead over Dario Ferrari’s Cannonball.

Ultimately after two windward-leeward races, she won by a point, the top four Maxi 72s finishing within two points.

Defending champion, Bella Mente of International Maxi Association Vice President Hap Fauth won Saturday’s first race, after one aborted start when the wind went through 180°, filling in from the southeast.

George Sakellaris’ Proteus claimed the second race when the wind had picked up to 17 knots.

Mini Maxi Racer was the only other class to sail windward-leewards. Here Sir Peter Ogden completed his perfect scoreline aboard his Vrolijk 72 Jethou.

All other classes sailed an anticlockwise lap of the Maddalena archipelago, shortened as the 180° shift crept north. Some classes got away unscathed; others less so.

In the Wally class International Maxi Association President, Thomas Bscher and his Wally 107 Open Season claimed their second win of the week.

David M. Leuschen Galateia - Click image for a larger image

Runaway winner in the Wally class was Galateia of David M. Leuschen, whose second place today secured the white Wallycento victory by five points over Ferit Sahenk’s Nahita.

“It is our first win and it is a nice place to do that - the most important of the four races we’ve done,” said an elated Leuschen.

Winner in the Super Maxis was the 33m WinWin, following yet another prolonged battle with Filip Balcaen’s Baltic 112, Nilaya.

Second place Saturday was enough secure Super Maxi victory for Salvatore Trifiro's new 32.6m long Malcolm McKeon design, Ribelle, in this, their third ever event.

Salvatore Trifiro's Ribelle - Click image for a larger image

In the Maxis, overall winner was Sir Irvine Laidlaw’s Highland Fling XI, but Saturday was again the turn of Nefertiti, Argentinian Juan Ball’s Swan 90.

“Conditions are better for us when there is less wind,” said Ball. Today, they were doing very well for the final half hour before the course was shortened.

In Mini Maxi Racer Cruiser 1, it was multiple past winner Carlo Puri Negri and his Farr 70 Atalanta II who claimed honours.

Overall victory in this hotly contested class went to 2015 winner Roberto Lacorte and his Vismara 62 SuperNikka, by two points from Benoît de Froidmont's Wally 60, Wallyño, having negotiated the transition three miles from the finish.

Roberto Lacorte SuperNikka - Click image for a larger image

Winner both Saturday and overall in Mini Maxi Racer Cruiser 2 was the Vallicelli 80 H2O of Riccardo De Michele. This result broke their week long tie with Giuseppe Puttini’s Swan 65, Shirlaf.

Prizes were awarded by YCCS Commodore Riccardo Bonadeo, President of Rolex Italy Gian Riccardo Marini, IMA President Thomas Bscher and His Highness the Aga Khan and Princess Zahra Aga Khan.

In addition to the class winners the Commodore Alberini Perpetual Trophy was awarded to Will Apold, owner of Sorceress.

The top scoring IMA members were: Maxi: Rambler (George David), Supermaxi: Nilaya (Filip Balcaen), Wally: Magic Carpet³ (Sir Lindsay Owen-Jones) and Mini Maxi: H2O (Riccardo De Michele).

The 2017 Maxi 72 Overall trophy went to Dieter Schön’s Momo.

Follow Sailweb on Facebook - Click here

Follow Sailweb on Twitter - Click here