Home >

Sailweb  RSS feed

Chichester Harbour Race Week 2017 Roundup

With an entry of 330 boats from 52 clubs, Chichester Harbour Race Week 2017 lays claim as the biggest dinghy regatta on the south coast.

Although the first day's racing had to be postponed with winds too light and flukey, the rest of the week saw sunshine and generally good breezes and a full racing programme was completed.

Remarkably close racing characterised this year's event and in many of the 18 fleets there was still everything to race for on the Friday, with boats in top three positions tying, or separated by only a point or two.

Positions were closest at the top of the RS400 fleet, with Mike Thomson and Toby Price (Emsworth Slipper SC) taking victory after finishing tied on points with Mike Partridge and Claire Davies (HISC).

Click image for a larger image

The strong Solo fleet had extremely tight racing, the top three finishing with only one point difference between them. First was Nick Bonner (HISC), 2nd Guy Mayger (Felpham SC) and 3rd Richard Catchpole (Leigh and Lowton SC).

Regular winner Andrew Gould (Musto Skiff, ESSC) led his rivals overall with minimum points in the fast asymmetrics, as did Tom and Emma Morris (HISC) in the RS200s, with 47 entries the largest fleet.

Also minimum-point winners were:

Foiling Moth sailor Michael Lennon (HISC) and Laser sailor William Birchall (Parkstone YC). Martin Brooks and Neil Wilson (Laser Stratos, Thorney Island SC) in the medium handicap (two-man).

And Martin Jones (Dell Quay SC) in the Laser Radials, 4.7 sailor Georgia Robertson (Mengeham Rythe SC), Rosie Thompson (HISC) the Optimist winner and Ossie Stewart's team in the RS Elites.

It is surely rare for a sponsor to win a first prize in an event his company supports, but that was the case for Matt Walker (MRSC), managing director of Bentley Walker, who took the Finn trophy thanks to his first place in the final race.

Click image for a larger image

And while competitors from harbour clubs, particularly those from host club Hayling Island SC, formed by far the largest contingent of entrants, sailors from further afield did well.

With Sammy Isaacs-Johnson of Maidenhead SC (RSAero 5) carrying off the medium handicap one-man trophy and plenty of prize plates going beyond the harbour.

There was a hush at the prizegiving announcement of the club team winners when it became clear that usual winners HISC had been toppled from the top.

Emsworth Slipper had chosen their representatives well, and first places in three fleets gave them the trophy

Chichester Harbour Race Week 2018 will run from August 13 to 17.

Full 2017 results here

More Action photos here

Follow Sailweb on Facebook - Click here

Follow Sailweb on Twitter - Click here