Home >

Sailweb  RSS feed

36th King's Cup MAPFRE - Day 2 on the Bay of Palma

Only Dieter Schön’s Momo retains the perfect scoreline after winning their third race in a row for the four boat Maxi72 class at 36 Copa del Rey MAPFRE.

Their string of victories might have been broken were it not for the fourth race of the series, the second of the day, being abandoned when Momo lay second on the water.

For crews and for the race committee teams alike it was a particularly testing day on the water.

All day the unsettled breeze was shifting, clocking more and more right, as thundery, stormy clouds around the western Mediterranean again played havoc with the weather. Most classes achieved one decent race, the exception being the Swan 42s which did not complete a race.

The leaders at the end of the second day of competition are:

Momo in Maxi class 72, Team Vision Future in Mallorca Sotheby's IRC, Earlybird in ClubSwan 50, Black in MRW Swan 45, Nadir in Swan 42, Aifos in BMW ORC 1, L'Immens in BMW ORC 2, Ceres Group in BMW ORC 3 and Les Roches in Herbalife J80.

The GC32 foiling catamaran class start racing Wednesday.

Spanish Olympic medallist and Volvo Ocean Race skipper Iker Martinez and his crew on Movistar lie sixth after two events on the GC32 Racing Tour and will be hoping for a win on a race area which might be considered home waters,

36th King's Cup MAPFRE - Day 2 leading positions

1. Aifos (ESP), S.M. El Rey Felipe VI, 2+3+6=11
2. Porron IX (ESP), Axel Rodger, 10+1+3=14
3. Hydra – Marina Rubicon (HKG), 9+8+2=19

1. L´Immens – Laplaza Assesors (GBR), Carlos Rodríguez, 2+4+1=7
2. Maverta (ESP), Jose Ballester, 3+2+2=7
3. Sum Innovation (ESP), Pedro Campos, 6+1+4=11

1. Grupo Ceres (ESP), Daniel Cuevas, 4+1+1=6
2. Just the Job (GBR), Scott Beattie, 1+4+4=9
3. Lanzarote Sailing Paradise (ESP), Alejandro Morales, 3+3+3=9

Maxi 72
1. Momo (IVB), Dieter Schon, 1+1+1=3
2. Cannonball (ITA), Dario Ferrari, 3+2+3=8
3. Proteus (USA), George Sakellaris, 2+3+4=9
4. Bella Mente (USA), Alex Roepers, 4+4+2=10

Club Swan 50
1. Earlybird (GER), Hendrik Brandis, 1+1+3=5
2. Niramo (GER), Sonke Meier Sawatzki, 6+2+2=10
3. Ulika (ITA), Andrea Masi, 2+4+4=10
… hasta 6 clasificados.

MRW Swan 45
1. Negra (ECU), Francisco Rizzo, 6+1+2=9
2. Ange Transparent 2 (ITA), Valter Pizzoli, 1+3+7=11
3. K-Forze (USA), Jan de Kraker, 3+2+6=11

Swan 42
1. Nadir (ESP), Pedro Vaquer Comas, 2+1=3
2. Pez de Abril (ESP), José María Meseguer, 1+2=3
3. Voloria IV – Regina 2.0 (SWE), Jacob Wallenberg, 3+6=9

Mallorca Sotheby´s IRC
1. Team Vision Future (SUI), Mergui Mikael, 1+4+1=6
2. Paprec Recyclage (FRA), 2+5+2=9
3. Alegre (GBR), 7+1+3=11

Herbalife J80
1. Les Roches Jeunesse Marbella Team (ESP), Eric Brezellec, 2+1+1=4
2. Bribon Movistar (ESP), Marc de Antonio, 1+2+4=7
3. VSA Comunicación (ESP), José María Van Der Ploeg, 3+3+8=14

Follow Sailweb on Facebook - Click here

Follow Sailweb on Twitter - Click here