Home >

Sailweb  RSS feed

505 and FD UK Nationals - Final Day Results

The final day for the Flying Dutchman and 505 UK Nationals at Hayling Island SC featured two races in Hayling Bay resulting in changes of final title winners.

In the Flying Dutchman class, Alistair Mclaughlin and Mark Taylor made the 9 hour journey from Prestwick well worth the effort by taking the title.

Starting the day in second place they won the final two races to finish tied on points with Jon Williams and Alex Rogers from Rutland SC.

Third place went to Richard Phillips and Ricky Harris of Christchurch SC.

Click image for a larger image

The International 505 UK Open Nationals was also tightly contested.

Mike Holt and Rob Woelfel of the Santa Cruz YC (USA) won the final two races to overtake Nathan Batchelor and Sam Pascoe from Tynemouth SC for the Open title.

Ian Pinnell and Dan Cripps of Hayling Island SC took third in both races and third place overall.

Although these two International dinghy classes now attract small fleets in the UK, they are still popular world-wide, with European and World championship events attracting up to 100 entries.

Lots of 505/FD images by Peter Hickson at HISC website gallery.

Flying Dutchman UK Open National Championship - Final after 8 races

1st GBR 373 Alistair Mclaughlin and Mark Taylor Prestwick SC 8 pts
2nd GBR 387 Jon Williams and Alex Rogers Rutland SC 8 pts
3rd GBR 377 Richard Phillips and Ricky Harris Christchurch SC 20 pts

505 UK Open National Championship - Final after 8 races

1st USA 9072 Mike Holt and Rob Woelfel Santa Cruz YC 11 pts
2nd GBR 9180 Nathan Batchelor and Sam Pascoe Tynemouth SC 13 pts
3rd GBR 9190 Ian Pinnell and Daniel Cripps Hayling Island SC 28 pts
4th GBR 9177 Thomas Gillard and Harry Briddon Sheffield Viking SC 30 pts
5th GBR 9088 Andy Smith and Roger Gilbert Notts County SC 33 pts
6th GBR 9174 Mark Upton-Brown and Ian Mitchell HISC/Bosham 43 pts
7th GBR 9178 Chris Lewns and Jarrod Simpson RYA 56 pts
8th USA 8854 Craig Thompson and Jeff Nelson Unoffiliated 59 pts
9th GBR 9085 Charles Walter and Dougal Cram Datchet S C 62 pts
10th GBR 9136 Stewart Mears and Richard Tucker RCYC 65 pts
11th GBR 9124 Matt Hart and Christian Diebitsch Shotley Sailing Club 72 pts
12th GBR 8963 Martin Hodgson and Adrian Miles Stone Sailing Club 77 pts
13th GBR 9179 Tudor Owen and Tom Brunton WHITSTABLE 78 pts
14th GBR 9158 Ben Iliffe and Paddy Lewis Datchet Water SC 79 pts
15th AUS 9134 Michael Quirk and Curtis Hartmann RPEYY 82 pts
16th GBR 9142 Ian Montague and Jeremy White Marconi SC 95 pts
17th GBR 9126 Stuart Turnbull and Rich Nurse Burton S C 116 pts
18th FRA 9050 Herve de Kergariou and Guillaume de Kergariou CN Arradon 118 pts
19th GBR 9032 Jim Blyth and Darrel Samanjoel Largo Bay Sailing Club 121 pts
20th GBR 9125 Roger Deane and Tim Williamn Rock SC 123 pts
21st USA 7771 Ancelot Jean Claude and Leroy Riwanon ASNQ 127 pts
22nd GBR 9159 Mark Weston and Andy Weatherspoon West Riding 139 pts
23rd RSA 8905 Graeme Willcox and Matt Alvarado Netley Sailing Club 158 pts
24th GBR 8650 Terry Selfe and Alan Montague Stone Sailing Club 161 pts
25th GBR 8384 Steve Culpitt and Mark Nicholson Hayling Island SC 171 pts
26th GBR 907 Robin Brown and Ian Godrey TBC 175 pts
27th FRA 9150 Anne Marie de Kergariou and Stephane Pousset CN Carantec 200 pts
28th GBR 8165 Chris Doe and Peter Doe TISC 203 pts
29th GBR 8055 Gary Fowler and Mark Fowler Hunts SC 210 pts

Follow Sailweb on Facebook - Click here

Follow Sailweb on Twitter - Click here