Home >

Sailweb  RSS feed

OK Dinghy Euros - Lars Johan Brodtkorb makes history

Lars Johan Brodtkorb made history Saturday by becoming the first Norwegian ever to win a major OK Dinghy Championship.Lars Johan Brodtkorb -

After the final day of the OK Dinghy European Championship in Faaborg, Denmark was cancelled because of strong winds, Brodtkorb was declared the 2017 Champion.

Charlie Cumbley from Britain takes the silver and the defending champion, Bo Petersen, takes the bronze.

Brodtkorb said, “It feels really good to win. If not for the standings I would have hoped we could sail, but if I was training I would have probably gone out, but it was probably a little bit much for racing. I went to look and it was really windy.”

“It was kind of preparation for the Finn because I am always working on that and trying to find the best set up. The mast position is very similar to the Finn, and it doesn’t much matter about the boat, as the mast position is so important."

"I was not quite satisfied before the event, as I couldn’t quite figure it out in time, but changing things around makes it more fun, as it all makes a difference and I really like changing and trying."

Charlie Cumbley - Click image for a larger image

Cumbley adds another silver medal to his bronze and silver at the World Championship, but the gold continues to elude him.

“It’s always a shame when we don’t get the last day’s sailing in especially as we were into the first installment of the gold fleet racing. But that’s the way the cookie crumbles.”

While the weather here has been the dominant factor, next year the event moves to the Mediterranean at Bandol on the Côte d’Azur, where the hope is for less Danish weather, but the same great hospitality and competitive racing.

OK Dinghy 2017 European Championship - Final leaders (130 entries)

1st NOR 428 Lars Johan Brodtkorb 8 pts
2nd GBR 1 Charlie Cumbley 10 pts
3rd DEN 1471 Bo Petersen 21 pts
4th SWE 100 Thomas Hanson-Mild 24 pts
5th NZL 573 Luke Gower 25 pts
6th SWE 797 Mats Caap 28 pts
7th GER 772 Oliver Gronholz 30 pts
8th POL 1 Tomasz Gaj 32 pts
9th GER 71 Andre Budzien 33 pts
10th NZL 566 Greg Wilcox 38 pts
11th DEN 1485 Johan Bjorling 41 pts
12th GER 3 Wolfgang Hofener 41 pts
13th DEN 1450 Anders Andersen 49 pts
14th GER 803 Martin von Zimmermann 53 pts
15th DEN 10 Jens Lauge 55 pts
16th DEN 1495 Jesper Højer 63 pts
17th DEN 1397 Henrik Kofoed Larsen 66 pts
18th GBR 2179 Tony Woods 74 pts
19th POL 14 Pawel Pawlaczyk 75 pts
20th GBR 2188 Ian Hopwood 77 pts
21st GER 806 Jan Kurfeld 86 pts
22nd GBR 21 Christopher Arnell 86 pts
23rd DEN 1492 Jesper Bendix 86 pts
24th GER 7 Andreas Pich 88 pts
25th DEN 1477 Jorgen Holm 92 pts
26th DEN 1 Bo Reker Andersen 94 pts
27th SWE 2803 Marten Bernesand 100 pts
28th SWE 59 Lars Edwall 100 pts
29th SWE 2830 Jonas Borjesson 101 pts
30th GER 775 Jorg Rademacher 102 pts

Full results here

Follow Sailweb on Facebook - Click here

Follow Sailweb on Twitter - Click here