Home >

Sailweb  RSS feed

Hong Kong win Gertrude Cup at Cowes

James Badenach's team representing the Royal Hong Kong Yacht Club, has won the fourth edition of the Gertrude Cup.

The Royal Hong Kong Yacht Club team, held off a strong challenge on the final day from the USA Youth Team, led by Connor Needham.

Bruce Huber's team, representing the Royal Yacht Squadron, recovered from a show-stopping collision on the second day, to claim third.

Two youth teams tied on points for fourth, with the Grieg City Academy YC, led by Montel Fagan-Jordan, winning on countback, from the Royal London Yacht Club Youth Team, led by Ted Blowers.

A Prize Giving Ceremony was held in Cowes Yacht Haven. James Badenach was presented with the Gertrude Cup.

Connor Needham's USA Youth Team was the winner of the Olin Stephens Trophy, donated by the Royal Thames Yacht Club, for the best youth team.

This trophy will be competed for as a special youth prize each year, and Miami will be the next host of the challenge, in March 2018. Two British teams will be chosen for the trip.

The fifth edition of The Gertrude Cup will commence on July 28th 2018, teams wishing to participate should contact the Cowes Etchells Fleet.

Gertrude Cup - Etchells class - Final after 13 races

1. Royal Hong Kong YC, James Badenach / Martin Wrigley / Christian Thompson / Anna Carpenter - 22 pts
2. USA Youth Team, Connor Needham / Jimmy Kennedy / Hannah Polster / Brooks Daley - 32 pts
3. Royal Yacht Squadron, Bruce Huber / Edmund Peel / Angus Hemmings - 48 pts
4. Grieg City Academy YC, Matt Reid / Montel Fagan-Jordan / Camillo Orobio / Shabazz Patterson - 60 pts
5. Royal London YC, Ted Blowers / Oli Aldridge / Will Birch-Tomlinson / Will Bedford - 60 pts
6. Royal Perth YC, Bill Steele / David Bedford / James Anderson - 62 pts
7. Royal Ocean RC, Rob Tyrwhitt-Drake / Roger Reynolds / Mark Mansfield - 73 pts
8. Royal Malta YC, David Anastasi / Maya Podesta / Christoph Podesta / Kane Seychell - 74 pts
9. Royal Thames YA, Christopher Eames / Duncan Yeabsley / Duncan Hampshire / Ali Hinds - 80 pts
10. Lagos YC, Jan Muysken / Jonas Pedersen / Laurence Mead , Lagos, Lagos - 80 pts
11. USA 11, Ed Lebens / Bram Brakman / Gordon Gurnell / Key Becker - 81 pts

Follow Sailweb on Facebook - Click here

Follow Sailweb on Twitter - Click here