Home >

Sailweb  RSS feed

Zhik RS Elite Nationals - Dramatic victory in final race

Victory in the Zhik RS Elite 2017 Nationals went to Russell Peters, Greg Wells and Mark Darling in the final race of the series.Peters, Wells and Darling win final race and RS Elite Title

In a dramatic turn-around Russell Peters, Greg Wells and Mark Darling of Hayling Island SC took three wins from the four final races on Saturday to snatch the 2017 RS Elite title.

After the first day Mike McIntyre, with Caroline McIntyre and Simon Childs, had set about the defence of their RS Elite National title in a turbulent Hayling Bay with three race wins.

Russell Peters trailled in third place, eleven points off McIntyre and seven points off second placed Tom Hewitson.

Day 2 continued with the strong winds that had battered the fleet earlier and all racing was cancelled.

Saturday, the final day of the championship was re-scheduled to allow four races and the 30 strong fleet returned to Hayling Bay to find similar strong winds and a growing sea state.

The first race (R4) saw McIntyre and Peters together on the final spinnaker approach and on rounding the mark Peters dropped his spinnaker and took the win on the line.

Mike McIntyre, Caroline McIntyre and Simon Childs - Click image for a larger image

Race 5 was another close affair as the race was shortened on the first run due to a wind shift. this resulted in the still closely bunched fleet crossing the finish in short order.

McIntyre was forced to watch as Russell Peters took his second win - having been removed under a BFD start earlier.

Suddenly the leaderboard was showing a very changed situation - Although McIntyre could discard the BFD, Peters had picked-up two wins and was up into second and just two points behind McIntyre.

At this point their was a violent wind change as a rain storm passed through, and when racing resumed for Race 6 the wind strength and sea state had gone up a notch.

Ossie Stewart, Ian Tillet and Tom Stewart - Click image for a larger image

Ossie Stewart, who had been scoring well, finally pulled off a win in race 6 to close the gap on third placed Hewitson.

James Yearsley took second and McIntyre, in third, managed to finish ahead of Peters in fourth, to take the title result into the final race.

And so to Race 7, the final race where Peters needed to put at least four places between himself and McIntyre to take the title.

Peters did everything he could do by winning the race, while McIntyre fell just short in fifth.

Russell Peters, Greg Wells and Mark Darling - Click image for a larger image

The 2017 title went to Russell Peters, Greg Wells and Mark Darling by one point after a classic championship battle.

Second were Michael McIntyre, Caroline McIntyre and Simon Childs, and third Ossie Stewart, Ian Tillet and Tom Stewart edging out Tom Hewitson, Andrew Bonsey and Nigel Bird, again by just one point.

Zhik RS Elite National Championship - Final points after 7 races

1st 55 Russell Peters, Greg Wells and Mark Darling - Hayling Island SC 12 pts
2nd 76 Michael McIntyre, Caroline McIntyre and Simon Childs - Hayling Island SC 13 pts
3rd 67 Ossie Stewart, Ian Tillet and Tom Stewart - Hayling Island SC 24 pts

4th 20 Tom Hewitson Andrew Bonsey Nigel Bird Hayling Island SC 25 pts
5th 40 Roddy Bowerman Harry Bowerman Shaun Hopkins Hayling Island SC 38 pts
6th 84 David Hitchcock Mark Allerston Jill Hitchcock Hayling Island SC 46 pts
7th 37 Stephen Polly John Gunning David Kelso Royal Ulster YC 47 pts
8th 61 Simon Brien Tiffany Brien Oliver Loughead Royal North of Ireland YC 49 pts
9th 7 Colin Smith Paul Smith Anna Wells Hayling Island SC 56 pts
10th 33 Cam Stewart Mitch Webb Elliott Wells Hayling Island SC 58 pts
11th 19 Brian Corry Phil Anderson Clive Corry Strangford Lough YC 62 pts
12th 92 James Yearsley Jonny C Wayne Rogers Hayling Island SC 65 pts
13th 12 Tim Peters Andrew Jameson James grant Hayling Island SC 81 pts
14th 11 Paul Fisk Martin Grady Pippa Jubb Hayling Island SC 82 pts
15th 66 Andrew Partington Gareth Edwards Karen Partington Hayling Island SC 86 pts
16th 65 Toby Strauss Rob Cruickshank Dave Stone Hayling Island SC 90 pts
17th 101 Robert Holbrook Andrew Christie Lucy Benham RYS 93 pts
18th 24 Nick Peters John Rees Linda Ellis Hayling Island SC 102 pts
19th 107 Neil Fulcher Nick Radley NA Stone SC 104 pts
20th 50 John Driscoll Stephen Cartwright Hal Catherwood Royal North of Ireland YC 107 pts
21st 6 Adrian Ward Hugh Ward Sarah Ward Hayling Island SC 112 pts
22nd 46 Pete Copsey Allison Rogers Trevor Silvester Hayling Island SC 115 pts
23rd 1 Kate Keeping Mark Whinney David Charlesworth Hayling Island SC 116 pts
24th 52 Mark Hunter Ian Hunter Rory Graham Royal North of Ireland YC 116 pts
25th 48 David Wood Frances Wood Steve Cooke Royal Burnham YC 120 pts
26th 68 Richard Bavin Joey Thompson Duncan Haley Royal Burnham YC 123 pts
27th 83 Mark Brien Mark Ennis Mark Mcneill Royal North of Ireland YC 142 pts
28th 94 John Patterson Robin Flannigan Neil O'Hagan Royal Ulster YC 150 pts
29th 93 Angus McRobert Alistair McRobert Graham Castellano Strangford Lough YC 152 pts
30th 25 Andrew Archibald Pippa Archibald Maree Welch Hayling Island SC 167 pts
31st 102 Adrian Olsen Michael Lovell Trevor Greenway Royal Burnham YC 176 pts

Follow Sailweb on Facebook - Click here

Follow Sailweb on Twitter - Click here