Home >

Sailweb  RSS feed

Kiel Awarded Para World Sailing Championships

Kiel, Germany has been selected by World Sailing to host the 2017 Para World Sailing Championships from 20-25 June during Kiel Week 2017.GBR Sonar World Champions 2015

The selection of Kiel follows the earlier World Sailing decision to award them the Sailing World Cup Final in 2018.

Both events will take place during the Kieler Woche regatta, allowing them to be part of a well established event, pulling in plenty of media attention, rather than sidelined in the typical specialist set-up.

The raised profile for the Para World Sailing Championships is part of the belated World Sailing effort to get sailing back in the next Paralympic Games.

The decision to remove sailing from Tokyo 2020 was taken principally because the sport did not meet the International Paralympic Committee Handbook’s minimum criteria for worldwide reach.

'Applying sports and disciplines must provide evidence that they have a regular quadrennial competition programme, including a minimum of two (2) world championships hosted within the last eight (8) years. The application must include proof in the form of official results lists that the “widely and regularly practiced criteria” is fulfilled.'

World Sailing have now issued a Para World Sailing Strategic Plan for 2017-2020.

The Plan outlines four main priorities as well as tactics to achieve the goals, aimed at ensuring World Sailing presents a strong bid to the IPC for re-introduction in the 2024 Paralympic Games.

The 2017 Para World Sailing Championships will now be an integral part of World Sailing's continued efforts for reinstatement.

The target is for 32 nations to participate at the 2017 World Championships in Kiel.

In addition WS has committed £90,000 to support sailor participation at the event and logistics and shipping partner, GAC Pindar, will support the transportation of Para World Sailing equipment to the 2017 Worlds and the 2017 Sailing World Cup Hyeres.

The disciplines proposed by the Para World Sailing Committee for inclusion in the 2017 Championships are:

One Person Keelboat (Norlin 2.4 OD) – Open
One Person Keelboat (Hansa 303) – Female
One Person Keelboat (Hansa 303) – Male
Two Person Multihull (Weta) – Mixed
Two Person Keelboat (SKUD 18) – Open (International Championship)
Three Person Keelboat (Sonar) – Open (International Championship)
Other formats may also be tested in the Weta and Hansa 303.

Follow Sailweb on Facebook