Home >

Sailweb  RSS feed

RC44 Valletta Cup - Chris Bake's Team Aqua by a point

Again a RC44 season has concluded with impossibly close results: Chris Bake's Team Aqua today won the RC44 Valletta Cup by a point from Igor Lah's Team CEEREF.Team Aqua -

But with a two point advantage going into this final event, Team CEEREF claimed the overall RC44 Fleet Racing Championship title for 2016 by a point from Team Aqua.

Team CEEREF - Click image for a larger image

The final day of the RC44 Valletta Cup brought sun, but the wind off Malta never filled in sufficiently to allow the final races to be sailed, despite the 10 boat fleet venturing out on to the water. As a result Saturday's positions stand.

Being the longest-standing teams in the RC44 class, it is appropriate that Team Aqua and Team CEEREF should dominate the fleet racing in this 10th anniversary season for the Russell Coutts one designs.

As Team Nika managed in 2015, so this year Team CEEREF scored the coveted 'double': Victory in the season's championship as well as the World Championship, this year held in Sotogrande, Spain.

Follow Sailweb on Facebook - Click here