Home >

Sailweb  RSS feed

RS Aero UK Southern Circuit 2016

A total of 149 competitors took part in the Magic Marine RS Aero class UK Circuit events. Many keen sailors competing in both series.

On the Southern circuit 132 took part, with the mid size Aero 7 the most popular of the three sail sized classes at 88 entries.

The class Nationals and Inlands count in the six event Southern circuit and account for most of the scoring entries.

Additionally, other major UK RS Aero events outside these series, like the Winter Champs, Spring Champs, River Champs and Chew open, each had over 20 RS Aeros.

Winner of the big-rig Aero 9 series, with 36 entries, was Peter Barton winning four of the five events he entered. Second went to Matt Thursfield and third to Nigel Rolfe.

The Aero 7 event was much more open, with Pete Craggs taking the overall victory despite only making the top three on on occasion.

Second went to Andy Hill who tied on points with Karl Thorne.

The Aero 5 event pulled in 29 entries, with Archie Hainsworth winning three of his five events. In second was Cathy Bartram and third Andrew Frost.

Follow Sailweb on Facebook