Home >

Sailweb  RSS feed

Macgregor beaten in Busan Cup final

Britain's Lucy McGregor lost 3 - 2 to Katie Spithill of Australia in the final of the Busan Cup Women's International Match Race in Korea.

Spithill won the first two rounds of the best of five round final, before McGregor hit back with two wins to take it into a final round.

Macgregor dominated the prestart and pushed Spithill to the left but unfortunately for Macgregor the breeze was on the left.

Spithill led by 28 seconds at the 1st windward mark and finished the winner of the Busan Cup and collected 20,000 USD of prize money in this 4th event of the 2016 WIM Series.

Claire Leroy of France beat Anna Östling of Sweden 2 - 0 in the match for third place. She collected 15,000 USD.

Fourth place was enough to give Östling the overall 2016 WIM Series title.

The next and final event on the 2016 WIM Series is the Carlos Aguilar Match Race, in St Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands, December 1 – 4.

Final Results in the Busan Cup Women’s International Match Race

1. Katie Spithill, Alessandra Angelini, Jessica Eastwell, Kate Lathouras and Stacey Jackson, AUS, 25, 20 000 USD.
2. Lucy Macgregor, Annie Lush, Mariana Lobato, Elodie Mettraux and Mary Rook, GBR, 22, 15 000 USD.
3. Claire Leroy, Marie Riou, Claire Pruvot, Julie Gerecht and Morgane Gautier, FRA, 20, 12 000 USD.
4. Anna Östling, Hanna Klinga, Linnéa Wennergren, Marie Berg and Annika Carlunger, SWE, 18, 10 000 USD.
5. Trine Palludan, Lea Richter Vogelius, Josefine Boel Rasmussen, Lærke Ilsø Nørgaard and Joan Vestergaard Hansen, DEN, 16, 9 000 USD.
6. Stephanie Roble, Maggie Shea, Aimee Famularo, Elizabeth Shaw and Janel Zarkowsky, USA, 14, 8 000 USD.
7. Pauline Courtois, Maelenn Lemaître, Bérénice Delpuech, Sophonie Affagard and Juliette Le Friec, FRA, 12, 7 000 USD.
8. Caroline Sylvan, Malin Holmberg, Anna Norlander, Frida Langenius and My Karlsten Sfiris, SWE, 10, 6 000 USD.
9. Renée Groeneveld, Annemieke Bes, Lobke Berkhout, Claire Blom and Marcelien de Koning, NED, 8, 5 000 USD.
10. Diana Kissane, Jane Butler, Clara Hynes, Tara Flood and Jennifer Andreasson, IRL, 7, 4 000 USD.
11. Milly Bennett, Alice Tarnawski, Rosie Lee, Stephanie Doyle, Carrington Brady and Tara Blanc-Ramos, AUS, 6, 2 000 USD.
12. Gyeong Jin Lee, Ji A Kim, Min Ju Kim, Da Eun Yang and Da Som Park, KOR, 5, 2 000 USD.

Follow Sailweb on Facebook - Click here