Home >

Sailweb  RSS feed

Finalists announced for Yachtsman and Young Sailor of the Year

Finalists announced for the boats.com YJA Yachtsman and Young Sailor of the Year awards.

Shortlisted for the 2016 boats.com YJA Yachtsman of the Year Award are:

Olympic Finn Class Gold Medalist Giles Scott,

Round the Island Race record setter Brian Thompson and

Clipper Race crewman Gavin Reid.

Finalists for the 2016 boats.com Young Sailor of the Year Award are:

2016 Topper world champion Elliott Kuzyk (15),

Tom Darling (18) and Crispin Beaumont (18), Bronze medalists at the 2016 29er World Championships and

Powerboat racer Thomas Mantripp (15), who won this year’s GP RYA British GT15 and British Sprint Championship titles.

The winners of these premier British achievement awards will be announced at a gala luncheon on Tuesday, January 10, 2017 at Trinity House, London following a vote among members of the Yachting Journalists’ Association (YJA).

Ian Atkins, President of boats.com, commented: “The open nominations process for these two Awards highlighted the number of exceptional achievements that we have witnessed in 2016.

Creating a shortlist of just three nominees for each category is never easy. We already look forward to announcing the YJA's winner in January 2017.”

Only members of the YJA are eligible to vote. Voting closes at midnight on November 30, 2016.

boats.com is the largest global search engine in the recreational marine market with more than 250,000 boats for sale from 146 countries, presenting boat listings from brokers, dealers and OEMs on one website localised in nine countries.

The Yachting Journalists’ Association (YJA) represents more than 260 specialist marine journalists, photographers, TV and radio presenters across the major sailing and boating regions in the world.

Follow Sailweb on Facebook - Click here