Home >

Sailweb  RSS feed

Saxton and Hampshire master-class at RS800 Inlands

Tim Saxton and Fiona Hampshire claimed the 2016 RS800 Magic Marine Inland Championship with a race to spare at Grafham Water SC over the weekend of 8 and 9 October.

Tim Saxton and Fiona Hampshire set the bar high with three wins on the opening day before anyone else got a sniff of a victory.

Avoiding the slower moving and higher pointing RS400s in the shifty and gusty conditions provide an additional challenge for the RS800s.

This was highlighted by a nasty incident in the second race when James Hughes (now known as Captain Calamity) and Roz McGrane collide heavily with an unsighted RS400, putting James in hospital with some cracked ribs, a damaged lung and bruised liver and ego.

Credit to Roz, whose quick thinking and calm conduct prevented what could have been an even worse situation. Their abandoned and upturned boat in the middle of the race course left another obstacle to avoid.

Enjoying the slightly fresher conditions of day 2, race 4 was won by the hard-charging Andy and Ally Jeffries, before Saxton and Hampshire won race 5 to confirm the title.

Andy and Ally Jeffries then took their second win to claim second place overall, while Chris Feibusch and Nick Jankins grabbed a dramatic third on the line and the final podium spot.

2016 RS800 Magic Marine Inland Championship

1st 1203 Tim Saxton / Fiona Hampshire / Grafham Water SC 6 pts
2nd 1212 Andy Jefferies / Allyson Jefferies / Eastbourne Soverign SC 12 pts
3rd 8 Chris Feibusch / Nick Jankins / HISC 16 pts
4th 1166 Ralph Singleton / Sophie Singleton / Datchet Water SC 18 pts
5th 1216 Ella Morland / James Morland / Warsash SC 22 pts
6th 1195 Paul Jerkins / Colin Hatton / Eastbourne Sovereign SC 32 pts
7th 1132 Laurie Fitzjohn-Sykes / Ann Baptie / Datchet Water SC 36 pts
8th 1202 Andrew Blundell / Jane Turner / Warsash SC 36 pts
9th 1146 Martin Orton / Ian Brooks / Chichester YC 42 pts
10th 1144 Daniel Goodman / Debbie Clark / Datchet Water SC 43 pts
11th 1224 Fred Lord / Louise Gale / Carsington SC 53 pts
12th 1073 George Hand / Ed Gibbons / Brightlingsea SC 56 pts
13th 1131 Becky Diamond / Sophie Porteous / HISC 63 pts
14th 1154 Matthew Ponsford / Olivia Winther / HISC/CYC 67 pts
15th 1043 Chris Dodd / Bryony Meakins / Rutland SC 68 pts
16th 1221 James Hughes / Roz McGrane / Netley SC 79 pts
17th 922 Ian Paterson / Carol Paterson / Grafham Water SC 80 pts
18th 1077 Nigel Furness / Joan Furness / Datchet Water SC 95 pts

Full results available here

Follow Sailweb on Facebook