Home >

Sailweb  RSS feed

Pickles and Sharman take RS400 Inland title

Chris Pickles and Matt Sharman took the RS400 Inland Championship, held at Graftham Water last weekend (8-9 Oct).

From the first race the pace was set by Jon Heissig and Nicky Griffin winning the first two races.

In the third race Dave Exley and Mark Lunn took a turn at the front and the end of the first day saw these two joined by Chris Pickles and Matt Sharman, the die already cast for day 2.

Caroline Downing and Jason McDonnell took an easy win in the first race Sunday, while the previous days leaders struggled, posting what were to be their discards.

But, ominously Pickles and Sharman were still in the groove and added a second to their score line.

Penultimate race and Exley and Lunn found their form to take the win, with Pickles and Sharman second and Heissig and Griffin in third.

This left a winner takes all final race between the leading three crews.

Coming to the end of the second lap, Pickles and Sharman were battling Exley and Lunn for the lead.

Eventually Pickles and Sharman took the lead with Heissig and Griffin finishing second while Exley and Lunn were third.

Overall Chris Pickles and Matt Sharman had the title by two points from Dave Exley and Mark Lunn, with a further point back in third, Jon Heissig and Nicky Griffin.

There was a ten point gap from third back to Sam Knight and Sam Pickering leading the chasing fleet in fourth.

2016 RS400 Magic Marine Inland Championship

1st RS400 703 Chris Pickles / Matt Sharman / Delph SC 10 pts
2nd RS400 1186 Dave Exley / Mark Lunn / Leigh & Lowton SC 12 pts
3rd RS400 1454 Jon Heissig / Nicky Griffin / Llangorse SC 13 pts
4th RS400 1202 Sam Knight / Sam Pickering / Bartley SC 23 pts
5th RS400 1396 Richard Catchpole / Gary Coop / Leigh & Lowton SC 24 pts
6th RS400 1414 Caroline Downing / Jason McDonnell / Bartley SC 31 pts
7th RS400 1189 Steve Restall / Chris Stubbs / Downs SC 34 pts
8th RS400 1452 Howard Eeles / Chris Bownes / Bartley SC 35 pts
9th RS400 1017 Sean Cleary / Annalise Nixon / Oxford SC 40 pts
10th RS400 1161 Ben Robertson / Karen Baldwin / N/A 47 pts
11th RS400 1203 Richard Gray / Jon Dyas / QMSC 50 pts
12th RS400 1407 Hamish Gledhill / Alistair Banks / West Riding SC 50 pts
13th RS400 1131 Ben Williamson / Charlie Ticehurst / Welton SC 62 pts
14th RS400 1450 Wayne Hancox / Adam Whitehouse / Bartley SC 65 pts
15th RS400 564 Jacob Ainsworth / Kayleigh Roberts / South Shields SC 75 pts
16th RS400 1301 Mick Whitmore / Sarah Whitmore / Eastbourne Sovereign SC 81 pts
17th RS400 904 Grant Blake / Jessica Barker / Oxford SC 81 pts
18th RS400 1241 Ray Workman / Robin Kirby / RNSA 83 pts
19th RS400 1453 Stuart Halman / Anna Walsh / Leigh & Lowton SC 85 pts
20th RS400 1398 Sarah Allen / Gavin Stanley / QMSC 93 pts
21st RS400 1210 Mike Partridge / Claire Davis / HISC 103 pts
22nd RS400 1228 Andrew Johnson / Simon Plant / Grafham Water Sailing Club 104 pts
23rd RS400 1003 David Moore / Bob Hodkinson / Blithfield SC 106 pts
24th RS400 1392 Christopher Stanton / Jules / QMSC 107 pts
25th RS400 1380 Jon Willars / Richard Brameld / Welton SC 107 pts
26th RS400 1340 Sam Neal / Alistair James / Grafham Water Sailing Club 113 pts
27th RS400 527 Andy Powell / Steve Broom / Warsash SC 123 pts
28th RS400 1092 Peter Cooke / Alan Cooke / Grafham Water Sailing Club 133 pts
29th RS400 1342 Max Tosetti / Jenny Douglas / QMSC 144 pts

Follow Sailweb on Facebook - Click here