Home >

Sailweb  RSS feed

Sailing World Cup Series - Your invite is in the mail

The new stripped-down 2017 Sailing World Cup Series will consist of two Rounds for all 10 Olympic Events plus, and when possible, a Paralympic One Person Event.Hyeres is only European World Cup venue to date

The Series will culminate with a Final in Europe at a venue to be announced when the bids have been scrutinised.

Miami, USA will host the first Round of the upcoming 2017 Series from 22-29 January with Hyeres, France following from 23-30 April.

A European Final will conclude the shortened series in late June / early July 2017.

Qualification for the two 2017 events will be based on the World Sailing Rankings, plus anyone attending the 2016 Sailing World Cup Final in Melbourne, Australia.

Apparently to try to soothe the ruffled feathers of the down-under sailors, who have had all events in the region scrapped.

Qualification for the TBD 2017 Final event, will comprise of the winners of the Sailing World Cup Miami and Hyeres Rounds, plus the Rio 2016 Olympic medallists.

The remaining Final places will be based on the combined results at the two Sailing World Cup rounds, with the highest placed finishers being offered places.

The first competitor invitations for the 2017 Sailing World Cup Series will be sent out on Monday 10 October 2016.

After the short 2017 series, the Sailing World Cup series will run from October to July each year until 2020.

Each series will comprise of three Rounds and a European Final at the end of June / early July.

The next Olympic venue, Japan will host a Sailing World Cup Round each October from 2017 through to 2019 before holding the Final in July 2020, just weeks before the Olympic Games.

Related news items:

Mark Turner and how to sort out the dinghy/Olympic sailing world
Less is more in new Sailing World Cup
Qingdao makes final appearance in Sailing World Cup

Follow Sailweb on Facebook - Click here