Home >

Sailweb  RSS feed

Williams and GAC Pindar top the podium in Aarhus

Ian Williams claims top spot at M32 Aarhus tour event tied on points with Sweden's Nicklas Dackhammar after an unbelievable final race.

In the first race the Swedish skipper on Essiq Racing Team crossed the finish line first after steady sailing around the course in front of top rival, Ian Williams' GAC Pindar.

Adding another point to his leading position.

In the second and final race of the day, the young Swede got off to a beautiful start.

Accelerating ahead of the rest on the initial reach, he rounded the bottom mark first and headed up-wind where catastrophe struck.

In a port-starboard situation with Danish boat, TREFOR Racing, Dackhammar landed himself a penalty that proved very expensive in the light conditions.

While trying to get the boat moving after the penalty tacks, the two Danish boats, TREFOR and TRIFORK, moved ahead of Dackhammar.

Soon after Williams and Mans Holmberg (TyphoonX Racing) where also ahead, bringing Dackhammar from a first to last position in the race.

He eventually got the boat moving and managed to put himself back into the race by overtaking Holmberg and closing on Williams.

Now two points down to Williams, Dackhammar needed to cross the finish line right after the Brit - with Holmberg behind them.

Williams had other ideas . . .

To top the podium Willliams needed tie the points with Dackhammar – and have the better score in the final race.

On the final mark rounding, Williams covered Dackhammar giving Holmberg time to catch up with them.

Once Holmberg was in front of Dackhammar, Williams broke away to cross the line third, equal on points overall but with Dackhammar back in fifth.

Williams commented:

“It was a matter of fine judgment and team effort. The shared understanding of what we were trying to achieve and how to do it, was crucial to our success.”

M32 Series Aarhus Final positions

1. GAC Pindar (GBR) - Ian Williams - 25 pts
2. Essiq Racing Team (SWE) - Nicklas Dackhammar - 25 pts
3. TREFOR Racing (DEN) - Nicolai Sehested - 38 pts
4. Trifork (DEN) - Jes Gram-Hansen - 40 pts
5. TyphoonX Racing (SWE) - Måns Holmberg - 42 pts

Follow Sailweb on Facebook - Click here