Sailing World Cup - New format goes live Wednesday

A total of 600 Olympic sailors in 400 boats and 39 Paralympic sailors in 25 boats will compete against each other starting on Wednesday in Hyères, France. This ISAF Sailing World Cup event is the first occasion where fleets are decided based on the ISAF World Sailing Rankings and a qualification regatta. The world's top 30 ranking sailors in each class were invited, with the remaining ten places receiving their entry via the qualification regatta, Trofeo Princesa Sofia in Mallorca.

The 2015 ISAF Sailing World Cup consists of five regattas for all ten Olympic events and where possible, Formula Kite Racing. Two events have already taken place, Melbourne and Miami. The French event in Hyeres is the third and the first with the new limits applied. The next will be the British event in Weymouth and Portland in June and then Qingdao, China in September.

Qualification places for the ISAF Sailing World Cup final in Abu Dhabi in late October are up for grabs at each event. The final will bring together the top 20 boats in each Olympic event and an Open Kiteboarding event where the World Cup Champions will be crowned.

Thirty-four British crews will take part, racing is scheduled to commence on Wednesday 22 April. With the smaller fleets and no qualification race series, it is straight into a four day series building up to the Medal Races for the top ten on Sunday 26 April. Light winds have been forecast for the first days, and only towards the end of the week, a fresher breeze exceeding 20 knots will fill in

All the top ranked GBR Olympic sailiors are competing at Hyeres and team manager Stephen Park has set a 3 to 5 medal haul for this event, which has at least 30 medals on offer.

British Sailing Team line-up for the ISAF Sailing World Cup Hyeres:

470 Men - Luke Patience-Elliot Willis

470 Women - Hannah Mills-Saskia Clark; Sophie Weguelin-Eilidh McIntyre; Amy Seabright-Anna Carpenter

Laser Radial - Alison Young; Chloe Martin; Hannah Snellgrove

Laser - Elliot Hanson; Alex Mills Barton; Nick Thompson

49er - James Peters-Fynn Sterritt; John Pink-Flynn Sterritt; Dave Evans-Ryan Seaton

49erFX - Charlotte Dobson-Sophie Ainsworth; Kate Macgregor-Kirstie Urwin

Nacra 17 - Ben Saxton-Nicola Groves; Lucy Macgregor-Andrew Walsh; John Gimson-Hannah Diamond; Tom Phipps-Nikki Boniface

Finn - Giles Scott; Ben Cornish; Ed Wright

RS:X Men - Tom Squires; Joe Bennett; Nick Dempsey

RS:X Women - Izzy Hamilton; Bryony Shaw; Imogen Sills

2.4mR - Helena Lucas; Megan Pascoe; Will Street

Sonar - John Robertson, Hannah Stodel and Steve Thomas; Craig Wood, Steve Palmer