Home >

Sailweb  RSS feed

British Sailing Team field reduced squad in Hyeres

The British Sailing Team will field a reduced squad fo the final ISAF World Sailing Cup event in Hyeres. Palma 470 bronze medallists Hannah Mills and Saskia Clark will be missing from the start line after Clark underwent a hernia operation. While Eilidh McIntyre will have an 11th hour test on her broken finger to determine whether or she and Sophie Weguelin will be able to compete.

In addition the British Sailing Team’s Finn squad will miss the regatta in preparation for the Finn European Championships at La Rochelle in May, and the RS:X Women’s windsurfers have also opted to skip the event in favour of domestic training. Also waiting on clearance is 49er crewman Chris Grube who sustained a back injury in the Palma event.

But in other events the team will be at strength, especially so in the 2.4mR where
Helena Lucas and Megan Pascoe will aim to make it a hat-trick of British World Cup regatta victories.

The Paralympic Champion Lucas, and the 2013 2.4mR Open Worlds bronze medallist Pascoe share one World Cup series victory apiece in the one-person Paralympic class this season from the Miami and Palma events.

49er European Champions Dylan Fletcher and Alain Sign head into the event as defending champions, having secured their first World Cup gold at the 2013 edition of the event. Fletcher and Sign will be joined by six other British Sailing Team crews in the 49er event,

In the 49erFX fleet, Charlotte Dobson will head into the 2014 edition with confidence having claimed World Cup bronze with permanent crew Sophie Ainsworth in Palma two weeks ago. Frances Peters-Nicola Groves and Kate Macgregor-Katrina Best will also feature in the 45-boat women’s skiff fleet.

World Champion Nick Dempsey will spearhead the British challenge in the RS:X men’s windsurfing event, with Nick Thompson the leading British man in the Laser event, while Nacra 17 world silver medallists Ben Saxton and Hannah Diamond, and Lucy Macgregor and Andrew Walsh will aim to build on their top ten finishes two weeks ago in what were lively conditions for the multihull fleet in Palma.

John Robertson, Hannah Stodel and Steve Thomas will be among the eight teams competing in the three-person Paralympic Sonar event.

Racing at the ISAF Sailing World Cup Hyeres kicks off on Easter Monday with the final medal races scheduled for Saturday 26 April.

Sailors representing the British Sailing Team in Hyeres:

RS:X Men
Nick Dempsey
Tom Squires
Connor Bainbridge
Joe Bennett
Ali Masters

Nick Thompson
Alex Mills Barton
Martin Evans
Elliot Hanson
Jack Wetherell

Laser Radial
Chloe Martin
Hannah Snellgrove
Georgina Povall

Charlotte Dobson-Sophie Ainsworth
Frances Peters-Nicola Groves
Kate Macgregor-Katrina Best

Dylan Fletcher-Alain Sign
Dave Evans-Ed Powys
John Pink-Stuart Bithell
Stevie Morrison-Chris Grube
Nic Asher-Fynn Sterritt
Henry Lloyd Williams-Sam Batten
Jack Hawkins-Christopher Thomas

470 Men
Luke Patience-Elliot Willis
Mike Wood-David Kohler

470 Women
Sophie Weguelin-Eilidh McIntyre
Amy Seabright-Anna Carpenter
Jess Lavery-Megan Brickwood

Nacra 17
Ben Saxton-Hannah Diamond
Lucy Macgregor-Andrew Walsh
Pippa Wilson-John Gimson
Rupert White-Nikki Boniface
Tom Phipps-Zennor Pascoe

Helena Lucas
Megan Pascoe
Will Street
Carol Dugdale
John Brooker

John Robertson-Hannah Stodel-Steve Thomas
Craig Wood-Steven Palmer-Luke Sinnott