Team Richard Mille take line honours in Round the Island Race

Team Richard Mille, the foiling GC32 is first across the finish line of the 83rd J.P. Morgan Asset Management Round the Island Race. They crossed the line at 15:31:39 which means they were on the race track for 8 hours and 51 minutes, exactly one hour less than the record for the longest finishing time for a line honours winner set by Thomas Ratsey back in 1931.

Spax Solutions, the second GC32 crossed the finish line in second place but most of the rest of the fleet further to the east are still struggling with lack of wind.

Retirements were coming in thick and fast with 260, including Dame Ellen MacArthur, recorded at the last count.

But reports from the Forts indicate a building breeze to around 8 knots from the south-west with more to come, which might have deterred some from turning the ignition key.

Paradox, the Grand Prix multihull helmed by Peter Aschenbrenner crossed the finish line flying a hull to finish in third place on the water while the Swan 45, Eala of Rhu who was leading at the Needles this morning finished next.

There were whoops of joy coming from the Farr 45 Toe in the Water when they crossed the finish line ahead of Sir Ben Ainslie who they had battled with all the way round the course.