French win Little America's Cup

It has to be admitted that the 2013 International C-Class Catamaran Championship (Little America's Cup) at Falmouth has not exactly been as exciting as the recent America's Cup in San Francisco. A lot of people have put in a lot of work to make this event happen, but the craft have proved to be unprepared for serious racing rather than development sailing.Frank Cammas was overjoyed to become the first French C-Class Champion in history, even though it came at the expense of long time friends Lagarrigue and Besson. “These conditions are some of the toughest possible for a C-Class, and while we’re sad it ended this way for Billy and Jeremie, we’re proud to bring the Little Cup back to France for our team, our fans, and for Groupama,” Cammas said.

Frank Cammes and Louis Viat on Groupama sat on the shore and watched Billy Besson and Jeremie Lagarrigue aboard Hydros II start foiling upwind on the first leg of the race. They bore away at the first mark of the 6-leg course, playing it conservatively in 15-18 knots of breeze when disaster struck. They pitch-poled, destroying most of the wing’s structure and further damaging the steering system while dozens of spectator craft looked on.

The team’s support crews quickly righted the boat, and Besson and Lagarrigue showed the strength of their spirit as they completed four more legs of the course with their wingsail disintegrating to pieces above them. Groupama finally made it onto the course as Hydros sailed through the finish line, to the applause of hundreds of onlookers on shore and on the water.

C-Class Fleet RacingClick image for a larger image

C-Class Championship - Overall Results:
1 – FRA - Groupama C – Cammas/Viat (Winner of Little America's Cup)
2 – SUI - Hydros Lombard Odier I – Besson/Lagarrigue
3 – USA - Cogito – Guck/Kramers (Winner of Fleet racing)
4 – CAN - Canaan – Gooderham/Pavey
5 – SUI - Hydros Lombard Odier II – Heemskerk/Tentij
6 – CAN - Fill Your Hands – Eaton/Clarke
7 – FRA - Patient Lady VI – Bentemps/Gahinet
8 – USA - Aethon – Clark/Moore
9 – GBR - Invictus – Phipps/Bader
10 – ESP - Alpha – Patience/Aviles
11 – POR - Wild Horse – Cayola/Balieto