Julia Bailey leads 2013 Dragon Edinburgh Cup

Day 1 of the 2013 Dragon Edinburgh Cup at Weymouth, with the traditional postponement to allow the sea breeze to establish before the 41 strong fleet was able to complete two races in glorious sunshine! Yes, the long anticipated english summer had arrived and the southwesterly wind built gradually from around 5 to over 10 knots. Individual race winners were the professional teams of Klaus Diederichs, sailing with Andy Beadsworth and Jamie Lea, and Ted Sawyer, sailing with Martin Payne and Pedro Arriaga. But it was Julia Bailey and her amateur crew of husband Graham Bailey, fourteen year old Will Heritage and Dragon newcomer Keith Tippell, who dominated overall with a 3, 2 scoreline to take a two point overall lead.

It was definitely the day for family teams as tonight second place overall is held by Ron James and his wife Julia Walsh, who are crewed by top Irish professional Mark Pettitt. Ron and Julia are amongst the most active Dragon owners on the international circuit and can be found at many of the major events each year. Today they finished second in the opening race and followed up with a fifth, which puts them two points behind Julia Bailey.

And in third overall we have Julian Sowery and his wife Claire with their crew Neil O'Hagan who were incredibly consistent with their 4, 4, score line which leaves them trailing Ron by a single point and just 3 points behind Julia. Based at the Medway Julian and Claire are typical club sailors who are able to compete at just one or two major events each year so they were delighted with their results today.

And so they should be as the man who lies in fourth place and six points behind them is none other than British Olympic Bronze Medallist and reigning Dragon World Champion Lawrie Smith crewed by Ossie Stewart and Tim Tavinor.

On equal points but taking fifth on count back is Grant Gordon crewed by Ruaridh Scott and Joost Houweling who both work for North Sails.

Klaus Diederichs followed his win in the opening race with a 15th and now lies in sixth with Portugal's Jose Matoso seventh, Gavia Wilkinson-Cox eighth, Marcus Brennecke of Germany ninth and Danish double Olympic Gold Medallist and multiple Dragon Champion Poul-Richard Hoj-Jensen tenth.

Wednesday's forecast is for similar warm sunny weather and afternoon sea breezes and the race committee aims to run two further races. The six race series continues until Friday 27 June with a single discard being introduced once five races have been completed.

International Dragon - 2013 Edinburgh Cup supported by Aberdeen Asset Management
1. GBR720 Julia BAILEY, Graham BAILEY, William HERITAGE & Keith TIPPELL 3.0 2.0 5pts
2. GBR633 Ron JAMES, Julia WALSH, Mark PETTITT 2.0 5.0 7
3. GBR755 Julian SOWRY, Claire SOWRY, Neil O'HAGAN 4.0 4.0 8
4. GBR785 Lawrie SMITH, Ossie STEWART, Tim TAVINOR 8.0 6.0 14
5. GBR780 Granty GORDON, Ruaridh SCOTT, Joost HOUWELING 7.0 7.0 14
6. GBR758 Klaus DIEDERICHS, Andy BEADSWORTH, Jamie LEA 1.0 15.0 16
7. POR55 Jose MATOSO, Gustavo LIMA, Frederico MELO 14.0 3.0 17
8. GBR761 Gavia WILKINSON-COX Jean Sebastien PONCE Vicente PINHEIRO DE MELO 10.0 8.0 18
9. GER11 Marcus BRENNECKE, Marc PICKEL Thomas AURACHER 9.0 9.0 18
10. GBR775 Poul HOJ-JENSEN Hamish McKAY Andrew "Noddy" NORDEN 5.0 14.0 19
11. IRL214 Simon Brien Mark Brien David Gomes 13.0 10.0 23
12. GBR782 David ATKINSON Ian TURNBULL John OUTHWAITE 11.0 18.0 29
13. USA310 Ted SAWYER Martin PAYNE Pedro ARRIAGA 29.0 1.0 30
14. GBR768 Christopher HUNT Mark HART Mark "Crash" DALY 12.0 21.0 33
15. GBR740 Clive PAGE Graeme PAGE Rory PAGE 17.0 17.0 34
16 GBR610 Mark DICKER James CAMPBELL Drummond SYDENHAM 23.0 13.0 36
17 IRL213 Michael COTTER Simon FRY Tim GOODBODY 19.0 19.0 38
18 GBR708 Quentin STRAUSS Martin Cullen Simon STRAUSS 6.0 33.0 39
19 AUS210 Sandy ANDERSON John MONCRIEFF John LOW & Bernie McELHINNEY 15.0 24.0 39
20 GER1071 Helmut Schmidt Andreas Listl Stefan Hellriegel 25.0 16.0 41
21 GBR766 Robert CAMPBELL Justin WAPLES Tom WAPLES 16.0 25.0 41
22 GBR722 Mark WADE Amanda WADE Simon CASH 22.0 20.0 42
23 GBR763 Simon BARTER James BARTER Donald WILKS 20.0 29.0 49
24 GBR764 Mike HAYLES Monique HAYLES Julian BROOKE-HOUGHTON 30.0 22.0 52
25 SUI312 Dirk OLDENBURG Phil BLINN Mario WAGNER 42.0 OCS 11.0 53
26 GBR717 Harry PYNN Andrew JAMES Jonno BAKER 21.0 32.0 53
27 GBR746 Peter MARCHANT Katie COLE Andy BIDDLE 26.0 27.0 53
28 GBR770
Jono BROWN David BROWN Lynette BROWN 42.0 OCS 12.0 54
29 GBR753
Jonathan RATNAGE Ross McKISSOCK Guy CLARABUT 18.0 38.0 56
30 GBR739
Nigel KAULA Oliver MORGAN Matt ALEXANDER 28.0 28.0 56
31 GBR586
Ian GRAY Rene NEL Rob GODDARD 34.0 23.0 57
32 GBR777 Owen PAY Jonathon MORTIMER Matt WALKER 27.0 30.0 57
33 GBR704 Martin MAKEY Tim WILKES Teresa WILKES 24.0 34.0 58
34 AUS227 Marcus BLACKMORE Terry WETTON Don COWIE 33.0 26.0 59
35 GBR675 David HARRIS Christopher BREALY Brian MCKENZIE 32.0 35.0 67
36 GBR771 Adrian DYBALL Bruce McCLAREN Nick FRIBBENS & Adrian MICKLESON 31.0 39.0 70
37 GBR718 Jenny STUTLEY Roger GUY Lisa GUY 35.0 36.0 71
38 JPN50
Bocci AOYAMA Tetsuya SASAKI Norio IGEI 42.0 OCS 31.0 73
39 GBR622 Robert RIDDELL Georgina DEWAR Deborah PRITCHARD JONES 36.0 37.0 73
40 GBR557 Graham PRICE Patrick LOMAX Tracy POWELL 37.0 40.0 77
41 GBR660 Dave ROSS Matt HOLMES Paul KELSEY 42.0 OCS 42.0 BFD 84