Star Sailors League Final - Now It Gets Serious

Final day of qualification Star Sailors League Final in Nassau, Bahamas, and Robert Scheidt and Henry Boening nailed their place in the final with a 1, 7, 1, 1, scoreline.

Mark Mendelblatt and Brian Fatih (5,10,21,3) finished the day in second and go through to the semi-final round, and wait to see who joins them from the quarter final knock-out series.

Only other race winner on Friday was Star escapologist, Paul Cayard with Arthur Lopes, dragging themselves up from 14th place to finish the day in 7th and in the quarter final knock-out series.

Cayard with Lopes join seven others from the top ten to fight fora place in the semi-final round.

Among the might-have been, were Zsombor Berecz and Michael Maier who ended the day tied on points with Lars Grael and Samuel Gonçalves, but then slipped to 11th and out of contention

A relaxed looking Iain Percy chats with event commentator Shirley Robertson, on his return to the SSL event

Back on the water Friday were Iain Percy and Anders Ekström, despite missing the first two days of racing.

They sailed the final four races for a 9, 6, 6, 6, scoreline and a 22nd place out of 25, a pretty good score in the circumstances.

Pity business interrupted their series, but then America's Cup business is about the only thing that would drag Percy away from his Star sailing.

Star Sailors League - Finals - After 11 races, 1 discard (Updated)

1st BRA Robert Scheidt and Henry Boening 33 pts
2nd USA Mark Mendelblatt and Brian Fatih 55 pts
3rd ITA Diego Negri and Frithjof Kleen 65.8 pts
4th BRA Jorge Zarif and Pedro Trouche 68 pts
5th POL Mateusz Kusznierewicz and Dominik Zycki 75 pts
6th NOR Eivind Melleby and Joshua Revkin 81 pts
7th USA Paul Cayard and Arthur Lopes 94 pts
8th SWE Freddy Lööf and Edoardo Natucci 97 pts
9th FRA Xavier Rohart and Pierre-Alexis Ponsot 98 pts
11th BRA Lars Grael and Samuel Gonçalves 100 pts
10th HUN Zsombor Berecz and Michael Maier 99 pts

Event Qualification Cut-off
11th HUN Zsombor Berecz and Michael Maier 99 pts
12th CRO Tonci Stipanovic and Frederico Melo 104 pts
13th ITA Francesco Bruni and Nando Colaninno 109 pts
14th NZL Hamish Pepper and Steve Mitchell 121 pts
15th SWE Max Salminen and Johan Tillander 129 pts
16th USA Augie Diaz and Bruno Prada 131 pts
17th USA George Szabo and Roger Cheer 137 pts
18th CYP Pavlos Kontides and Markus Koy 143 pts
19th CRO Šime Fantela and Antonio Arapovic 150 pts
20th ITA Guido Gallinaro and Kilian Weise 151 pts
21st FRA Kevin Peponnet and Mark Strube 176 pts
22nd GBR Iain Percy and Anders Ekström 183 pts
23rd CZE Ondrej Teplý and Antonis Tsotras 199 pts
24th ITA Ruggero Tita and Enrico Voltolini 206 pts
25th RUS Georgy Shayduko and Vitalii Kushnir 216 pts

Follow Sailweb on Facebook - Click here

Follow Sailweb on Twitter - Click here