Babbage takes early lead at Aussie Moth Nationals

Scott Babbage is the early leader after three races at the International Moth 2013 Australian National Championship on Lake Macquairie at the Wangi RSL Amateur SC. In second is 49er silver medalist Peter Burling of New Zealand and in third Peter Lister of Australia. The Moth seems to be the class of choice when Olympic pressure is off. Other 2012 Olympic medalists competing are: Nathan Outteridge, 49er-Gold, in 4th, Tom Slingsby, Laser Gold, at 7th and Ian Jensen 49er-Gold in 8th.

Monday was the first day of Championship racing with the first three races being completed in near perfect conditions on Lake Macquarie. In the opening race, Kiwi Pete Burling and regular second place getter Scott Babbage took first and second with Julian Salter third.

Race 2 was started in slightly more breeze was eventually won by Scott Babbage from Dave Lister who was racing is own designed and built boat, followed by Pete Burling, Tom Slingsby and Nathan Outteridge. Only a few seconds separated the front group of boats who were still capable of lapping the back markers in a 2 lap race.

Race 3 was stated in a 13-15 knot breeze that had swung to the east. As a result the course was re-laid and lengthened to allow for the extra speed of the boats. The race was eventually won by Dave Lister followed by Josh McKnight, Scott Babbage, Nathan Outteridge and then Pete Burling.

Int Moth - Australian National Championahip, after 3 races (69 entries)
1 AUS 2 Scott Babbage, Woollahra 3 1 2 6pts
2 NZL 3961 Pete Burling, Tanranga YC 5 3 1 9 pts
3 AUS 3657 Dave Lister, ST George SC 1 2 11 14 pts
4 AUS 3997 Nathan Outteridge, WASC 4 5 8 17 pts
5 AUS 3 Rob Gough, RYCT 7 6 4 17 pts
6 AUS 3678 Joe Turner, Woollahra 6 9 5 20 pts
7 AUS 3964 Tom Slingsby, Gosford SC 8 4 12 24 pts
8 AUS 3951 Iain Jensen, WASC 9 11 7 27 pts
9 AUS 8 Julien Salter, RYCT 5 12 3 30 pts
10 AUS 5 Andrew McDougall, BRYC 13 13 10 36 pts