Last Race, Last Event to decide Craftinsure Silver Tiller Champions

When 2012 kicked off, we knew it was going to be a big year, but could anyone have predicted quite such an amazing season? With events coming to a close on Saturday 3rd November at the Royal Lymington Yacht Club, the title of overall winner of the 2012 Craftinsure Silver Tiller had still to be decided! Going into the last event it was extremely tight at the top with just 0.1 of a point separating the combination of Richard Whitworth and Sarah Bines from David Winder and crew Pippa Taylor. Could Richard celebrate his half century by taking the Silver Tiller home for a fifth time, or would Winder “pull it out of the bag” and win this, his first major Silver Tiller series? Only three races (with two to count) would tell.

And so it cam to the final race of the final event of teh season long series. Race three and now a numbers game. If Andy Davis and Tom Pygall won the last race, not only would they win the Lymington Silver Tiller event they would also be on equal points to Whitworth and Bines at the top of the overall placings. Without a year book to hand, (why not Richard?) and not knowing how the discard would work on equal points, Whitworth had to keep a close eye on his newest rival in the Silver Tiller standings.

To keep the momentum going (and to ensure the fleet were all back ashore in daylight hours) it wasn’t long before the all-important final race was under starters orders. Again the black flag was on display due primarily to the ever increasing ebb tide. This race officer knows just what’s needed to try and hold the fleet back!

Tim Fells and Chris Downham magnificently led from start to finish taking the second win of the day and consequently the final Craftinsure Silver Tiller win of 2012. In the meantime Whitworth and Bines were paying very close attention to Davis and Pygall, resulting in Winder and Taylor finishing second, and with Whitworth and Bines taking third, it was Davis and Pygal in fourth!

With some dark and very dubious looking clouds approaching from the Needles, the fleet headed in at high speed for tea and cakes and to be in time for the forthcoming evening celebrations - the final chapter in the 2012 Craftinsure Merlin Rocket Silver Tiller!

After the early prizes had been presented it was Richard Whitworth and Sarah Bines who with much cheering whistling and clapping were crowned Craftinsure Silver Tiller Champions of 2012. A truly tremendous achievement to celebrate in style as are the fine second place results of David Winder and Pippa Taylor and the excellent third place overall finish of Jon Gorringe and Toby Lewis.

Merlin Rocket - Royal Lymington YC, Craftinsure Silver Tiller (27 entries)
1st Fragile 3727 Tim Fells / Chris Downham 2.0 (3.0) 1.0 6.0 3.0
2nd Dory 3739 Ben Mcgrane / Roz Mcgrane 1.0 2.0 (9.0) 12.0 3.0
3rd Keyser Soze 3684 Andy Davis / Tom Pygall (4.0) 1.0 4.0 9.0 5.0
4th The Clone Wars 3735 David Winder / Pippa Taylor 3.0 (7.0) 2.0 12.0 5.0
5th Faithless 3703 Richard Whitworth / Sarah Bines (5.0) 4.0 3.0 12.0 7.0
6th The Black Boat 3734 David Hayes / Johnny Ratcliffe (6.0) 5.0 6.0 17.0 11.0
7th Slippery When Wet 3693 Will Rainey / Sophie Mackley 11.0 (12.0) 5.0 28.0 16.0
8th GUP Black Pearl 3685 William Warren / Sara Warren (16.0) 6.0 10.0 32.0 16.0
9th Oakey Dokey 3712 Jon Gorringe / Nicky Bass 12.0 (17.0) 7.0 36.0 19.0
10th Head Case 3650 Rich Adams / Katie Wright 8.0 11.0 (12.0) 31.0 19.0

Merlin Rocket - Final Leaders Overall Craftinsure Silver Tiller 2012 (99 entries)
1 - 7.4pts 3703 Richard Whitworth / Sarah Bines, Parkstone / Hollingworth Lake
2 - 7.5pts 3735 Dave Winder / Pippa Taylor, Hollingworth Lake
3 - 8.4pts 3712 Jon Gorringe / Toby Lewis, Parkstone
4 - 9.5pts 3684 Andy Davis / Tom Pygall, Blithfield
5 - 9.5pts 3722 Matt Biggs / Ben Hollis, Blithfield
6 - 20.9pts 3740 / 3676 Pat Blake / Jilly Blake, Cookham Reach
7 - 21.8pts 3691 Mike Calvert / Ian Garwood, Axe
8 - 22.7pts 3730 Paul Hollis / James Dawes, Blithfield
9 - 23.3pts 3650 Richard Adams / Chris Gould, Midland
10 - 23.9pts 3716 Steve Leney / Gill Leney, Blithfield