Fireball Nationals 2014 - Gillard and Anderton take title

Two race wins on Thursday gave Tom Gillard and Richard Anderton the Fireball UK Nationals title with a day to spare. In second going into the final day are Ian Dobson and Tim Linsell (13pts), 3rd are Matt Burge and Simon Wheeler (17pts), 4th David Wade and Tim Hartley (28pts) and 5th David Winder and Simon Potts (31pts).

The boys will have to wait until tonight for the grand prize giving to collect their trophy. Last night in the club there was an idiot of the day award with lots of nominations following plenty of lay day party shenanigans.

There was also a live band and lots of great spot prizes, provided by generous sponsors, Harken, North Sails and P&B. They were shared with sailors further down the fleet and went down a storm.

There is one more day’s sailing today and lots of other prizes to play for in the Silver and Bronze fleet. Tenby has been amazing!

Fireball - UK Nationals after 8 races and 2 discards
1st 15081 Tom Gillard Richard Anderton Sheffield Viking SC / Hayling Island SC 6 pts
2nd 15089 Ian Dobson Tim Linsell SMVC 13 pts
3rd 15096 Matt Burge Simon Wheeler Poole YC 17 pts
4th 15113 David Wade Tim Hartley Northampton SC 28 pts
5th 15093 David Winder Simon Potts Hollingworth Lake SC 31 pts
6th 15100 David Hall Paul Constable Blackwater SC 37 pts
7th 15114 Barry McCartin Conor Kinsella Royal St George YC 40 pts
8th 15046 Alex Taylor Tim Saunders Budworth SC / Staunton Harold SC 45 pts
9th 14799 Claude Mermod Ruedi Moser RCO / SCoW Switzerland 45 pts
10th 15050 Kevin Hope Russell Thorne Notts County SC 46 pts
11th 15083 Chris Gill Jon Gill Portishead Y & SC 58 pts
12th 15112 David Sayce Nick Rees Hayling Island SC 65 pts
13th 14898 Paul Cullen Gareth Wilkinson Weirwood 65 pts
14th 15045 Christine Slater Graham Slater Paignton SC 84 pts
15th 15024 Joe Jospe Tom Egli Pointe Claire YC 88 pts
16th 15070 Philip Popple Gavin Tilson Shoreham SC 89 pts
17th 14976 Nick Copsey Andy Clarke Hayling Island SC 95 pts
18th 14785 Simon Lomas-Clarke Rob Daniels Paignton SC 99 pts
19th 15103 Keith Walker Rhys Pickett Hayling Island SC 105 pts
20th 15102 Martin Scarth Tony King Blackwater SC 123 pts
21st 14991 Andy Robinson Tim Morgan Datchet Water SC 126 pts
22nd 14807 Conor Clancy James Clancy Royal St George YC 128 pts
23rd 14887 Bryan Sargeant Will Sargeant Blackwater SC 131 pts
24th 14928 Anthony Willcocks James Wilcocks Portishead Y & SC 133 pts
25th 14821 Nick Hurst Jake Elsbury Shoreham SC / Hayling Island SC 136 pts
26th 14579 Martin Walker John Piatt Shoreham SC 137 pts
27th 14885 Fiona Gray Ian Davidson Waldringfield SC 138 pts
28th 14798 Lucy Riley Tim Riley Blackwater SC 143 pts
29th 15041 Maria Richards Jez White Blackwater SC 146 pts
30th 14994 Pete Badham John Rohdes Draycote Water SC 150 pts
31st 15075 Andy Willcocks Andrea Willcocks Portishead Y & SC 154 pts
32nd 14621 Jeremy Hurst Andrew Hurst Parkstone YC 158 pts
33rd 14391 Hannah Showell Jo Line Starcross YC 173 pts
34th 14801 Richard Cornes James Goodfellow Milton Keynes SC 176 pts
35th 15056 Colin Snowdon Karen Hiles Draycote Water SC 186 pts
36th 14514 Dale Giles Natalie Sansom Paignton SC 187 pts
37th 14229 Geoff Holden Sophie Holden Northampton SC 200 pts
38th 14889 Barry Smith Olivia Stodieck Thornbury SC 204 pts
39th 14415 Jonathan Cowper Martin Mills Hunts SC 218 pts
40th 13966 Tony Godwin Joe Ironside Rutland SC 218 pts
41st 14804 Benjamin Ballard Neil Ballard Portishead Y & SC 218 pts
42nd 14872 Barbara Newson Guy Newson Pentland Firth YC 235 pts
43rd 15111 Chris Turner Jono Loe Hayling Island SC 240 pts
44th 7551 Torie Morley Tobias Hamer Cobnor Activity Centre 254 pts
45th 14894 Bryan Thompson Sophie Lockett Bewl Valley SC 271 pts